We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and brilliant wine selection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatraklin Bistro Meat & Wine

Hatraklin Bistro Meat & Wine
Heichal Hatalmud 4 | Between Yhuda Halevi Street & Lilienblum Street, Tel Aviv, Israel (Formerly Hatraklin)
+972 3-566-0013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,057 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli, Bistro, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Between yhuda halevi street & lilienblum street
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and brilliant wine selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I went there last month with some friends and had a really good time. The food is delicious, and most important, its not overpriced as in other restaurants in the area. The wines are hand picked by their sommelier and if you want to sample local boutique wineries this is THE place to visit.
The service is warm and friendly, perhaps even overly-friendly as they tend to spoil you with too much wine tasting (although you can never have too much of it :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    68
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing wine, great food! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a must for anyone who will be in Tel Aviv. The service is friendly and professional, the selection of local wines cant be beat and the food is superb! A great place for a date, business dinner or celebration with friends!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I discovered this place soon after they opened a few years ago and gladly it stayed as yummy and inviting as it used to be. A place that takes its wine list seriously, makes sure that the food that accompanies it is a proper match, and always always treats the customers as personal guests. we just keep coming back again and again and again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding flavours, service, food and overall experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went here on our third night in Tel Aviv, having had two fabulous experiences on the previous two evenings. However Hatraklin was the most outstanding experience of our 3 nights. The service is professional and friendly, the ambience relaxed and chilled and the food is quite the best we have eaten in years. We started with the chicken liver pate with onion marmalade which was a burst of smooth rich flavour with the contrast of a date and nut topping which was unbelievably good. One is enough between two as this is very rich but wickedly good.
We then continued with their sirloin which you cook on a hot stone. The chimichurri sauce, wonderful mustard and the most delicious roast potatoes were a mouthwateringly good and we savoured every single morsel. At the end of the main course we were satisfied but the meat was so lean and light that we did not feel uncomfortable like you do when you eat a big heavy piece of meat. The flavours exploded in our mouths and were utterly delicious. This restaurant deserves to be number one on trip advisor. Our waitress was professional, helpful and gave great advice - thank you Nourit. Desert was a fabulous cross between a mousse and panacotta with subtle flavour and consistency. This meal was completely delicious and we tasted flavours that we have never experienced before.

A wonderful evening at a really reasonable price. This restaurant can compete with the best that major cities have to offer. Will definitely be back on

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beyond the fact that the food is excellent (most importantly), this is a fun experience in general because of the friendly, informal, personal atmosphere of the staff, who really care about making you feel welcome and having a great experience.

So much so that those seeking a more formal, "proper" experience may not be ready for the level of personal attention that comes your way. As an example, the owner (may be manager, not sure!) came over to our table and told us essentially that we didn't order the best things on the menu and recommended some different dishes - we took his advice and loved it. And the wine they selected for us was great too. We know not everyone may not like being "suggested" to order differently, but we enjoyed it and went with the flow and were happy we did.

Next time we come to Tel Aviv we will return - the food is great, the service is extra-friendly, and the whole evening was an experience, not just a meal. We loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatraklin Bistro Meat & Wine also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Hatraklin Bistro Meat & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatraklin Bistro Meat & Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.