We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Fish and Seafood, well-prepared at decent prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shtsupak

Shtsupak
256 Ben Yehuda Street, Tel Aviv, Israel
03-5441973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 1,056 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Shtsupak has been serving its special and fresh tastes for more than 20 years, hence its big amount of regular customers. It has become a tradition and custom for the locals throughout the years. All delicious varieties of fresh fish and sea food come with a generous meze of Middle Eastern salads, and guarantee pure enjoyment and simplicity of the sea. Open from noon to midnight every day of the week.
Highland Park, IL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish and Seafood, well-prepared at decent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just ate there and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The fish was fresh and nicely prepared. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal, with a mostly Israeli clientele.

Despite what other reviewers have written, the prices are on the low end for a restaurant serving well prepared fresh fish (and seafood) in Israel. And, to deal with another negative review, restaurant bills in Israel and Europe usually say "service not included" the wait staff certainly earn their tips with friendly and efficient service ... the salads that are served at the beginning of the meal (as you sit down) keep on coming ... the waitresses seemed to take it as a personal insult if you didn't have enough salads to eat. The advertised 10 salads (I counted more) include several varieties of egg plant, herring, ikra, crushed tomatoes and cilantro, And they took the time to answer any questions about the preparation.

Another perceived negative -- the menu written on a chalkboard in Hebrew only ... I am sure that someone can translate this into English, as there is a high percentage of English speakers in the country.

I've eaten in a number of seafood restaurants in Israel and this has to be among the very best, both for quality and price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My favorite fish restaurant in center of Israel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

They offer a variety of fish/seafood dishes.
I like their starters (free) salads.
Great value for money and good service.

Cost of the meal is avarage.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have eaten here a number of times . Food tasty and prices reasonble . Get there early tends to fill up quickly .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant for fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our hotel was nearby and we found this restaurant to have dinner. The service is quite good and responsive. They welcome you with a complimentary selection of salads and hot bread (that they refill) to be busy while they prepare your meal.
We order fish and it was well cooked and presented. It was a long time since I didn´t get a fresh fish like this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“if you like fish, don't leave Tel Aviv without visiting this restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The concept is simple.
you sit, get 10 different salads, hot bread and soda water, order a main course and pay only for the main course.
the restaurant is one of the oldest restaurants in Tel Aviv, and still is not known as some other trendy restaurants.
the people who are sitting there are of all sorts, young people, young families and grand parents (usually with their kids and grand children).
The food was fresh and excellent, both the salads, that the nice waitresses keep filling anytime the plate gets empty, and the main courses.
the service is very good. the lady who sat behind us complained that the huge calamari and Shrimp plate was smaller than she has expected, the waitress simply brought her a few more pieces without arguing.
The price - well this is the only problem of the restaurant. it is a bit expensive.
If I was a tourist, this is a place I would have wanted to go to, as it is so different than the many other restaurants in TA that you will get recommendations for.

one more problem for a tourist is that the menu is written on a board in Hebrew. I don't know how good is the English of the waiters, but I read someone complaining about that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shtsupak also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Shtsupak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shtsupak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.