We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bertie

Bertie
88 King George Street, Tel Aviv, Israel
+972 72-251-2950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 1,000 restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very romantic restaurant.We have visited it for the dinner and it was fantastic. Real taste of Mediterranean . Fish grilled perfectly , famous artichokes , some traditional starters...all fresh and tasteful.Stuff very polite and serviceable.Wine list could be a little bit better..would not mind tasting some regional wines...Really enjoyed....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    174
    31
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent from Start to Finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Highly recommended. Fun, festive atmosphere, fantastic service, excellent food, creative presentation. Flavor, flavor, flavor!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“modern cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

excellent food and wine, very creative mediterranean cuisine. The service was superb, highly recommended restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertie T, Manager at Bertie, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi,
Glad to see that the big reviewers give us the 5 stars!

The Bertie team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I wish they could open a place like this in London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went to the restaurant quite a while ago and really enjoyed myself so I decided to try again yesterday with my wife and we took our two fun nieces. What a treat! They had lots of new dishes (new to me..). I must say that I tasted yesterday the two best dishes I had in a very long time - their entrecote (more expensive than my usual meal but I was very happy) and a vegan pasta (especially made for us when one of us asked for something vegan, with a special tomato sauce and a cream of Jerusalem artichoke - that's how the waitress called it).
Thumbs up for this restaurant, I really enjoy their creativity and authenticity - spoke to the chef, really nice guy!
All in all, the four of us really enjoyed the dinner! I would recommend this place to anyone.

I wish the owners could open a similar place in London!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Visiting Tel Aviv with colleagues, we read the reviews and after the previous night's experience at Hatraklin(rated #1) we hoped for a good experience. To be fair, the atmosphere was nice in the outside seating, music volume was good. Hedges could have used some trimming. If you sit next to them be on the lookout for some little friends. But they don't eat much... The service was friendly and the food was pretty good. The bread was fresh and tasty and it came with a sour cream and a very spicy paste/spread and olives. I recommend mixing the the sour cream and the spicy paste together. The fresh fish, both the Alexandria Pompano and the Red Drum, were excellent with the vegetables. The sauce had a sweet taste the complimented the dish well. The Grilled Calamari was good but the sides could have been better. Specifically the humus was mostly whole chick peas but the flavor was good. Possibly just a little expectation management would have fixed that. The eggplant was cold when the dish came out. Preference was to have it warm, but again the taste was good. Dessert was malabi (a vanilla custard) which was excellent. Overall, a good experience and worth the price. Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bertie also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Bertie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.