We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moving, uplifting experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nalagaat Center

Nalagaat Center
Retsif Haaliya Hashniya- free paerking at the Jaffa port parking lots | Jaffa Port, Tel Aviv, Israel
+972 (0)3 633 08 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 274 things to do in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Haifa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A moving, uplifting experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I came with a tour group, and we just got to see the blind-deaf theater put on the play "Not by Bread Alone." It was amazing. I would have loved to eat in one of the restaurants also, but we weren't given the option. This is a wonderful opportunity to feel with those almost in another world.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    27
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The play opened up a new world to me. The restaurant was remarkable in every way - teaching us about the experience of senses and sense deprivation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Unique Concept but the Food was just OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Although I greatly admire the tenacity of handicapped individuals who do everything that they are capable of in order to work, this type of experience is not for everyone. I spent an evening here and also saw the play. The deaf waitress was charming and used chalk and a board to communicate with us, and she also taught us a bit of sign language. This is a dairy restaurant and the food was ok. If you are interested in exploring the world of the handicapped and supporting these special needs people, then this is a place you should visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Moving experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Visiting this place is a moving experience.
There are 3 main experiences: a coffee house with deaf waiters, a restaurant where food is served in total darkness, and a theater show with deaf and blind actors.
It provides a glimpse to a world most of us are not familiar with and usually also unaware of.
At the end of the visit you leave full of hope and admiration.
Do not miss this experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liveoak2
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Eat at the blackout restaurant which accompanies the show
and enjoy this amazing every amazing show which this troupe puts on.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nalagaat Center also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Nalagaat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nalagaat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.