We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore to your Saves list
Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   19 Montefiore St., Tel Aviv 6516406, Israel   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
-10- 20% direct booking
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nice hostel in a very nice area in the city. In a hostel there is a very nice atmosphere and good kitchen! Backyard is nice and big too where sometimes you can hear a nice chill out band playing. Hostel was clean and everything worked well. hope to see you guys soon! Thank you!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    80
    11
    16
    9
See reviews for
4
23
128
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in the Chef's Hostel Tel Aviv for one night in mid June, before we flew home from Tel Aviv's Ben Gurian Airport. The room was perfectly adequate, in an older building, therefore with quite high ceilings. There was an en suite in our double room, which was very welcome since our previous accommodation had shared toilets and showers. The common staircase leading up to the rooms was perhaps in need of refurbishment. We walked from the hostel to Jaffa via a very nice beach where we lounged and swam the next day. The proprietor could not have been more pleasant or helpful as he took time to give us directions to Jaffa and took an interest in all of the guests. There are no tea making facilities in the room but could be made down stairs in the reception and there was a nice seating area outside to relax and have a tea or coffee. This was a good stopover and we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My first time in Tel Aviv was in October 2013....I was looking for a place which was very central and easy to reach so I ended up staying at Chef Hostel. It was the best decision and no regrets at all!I came by myself and immediately met new people from all over the world who welcomed me so friendly. Also the staff and the owner Roy were very helpful right away and gave me great recommendations. I didn't feel lonely for one minute..there are so many things you can do and you catch up easily with other people. There is a programme every day which you can join any time like dinner, jam sessios, bike trips, pub crawls...I was never bored! :)
There still is so much more to see - that's why I came back this June and of course I picked Chef Hostel again. It was as good as my first stay and I already plan my next trip! ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Wonderful staff, accommodation is really good ,depending on your budget, they help you to get around Israel specially Tel Aviv ,I have fond memories and met beatiful people, definitely will be back and yeah free wifi which is a must!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hostel was the perfect place for a relaxing, enjoyable, and homey stay in Tel Aviv! We only had one evening free from our summer study program, and we, a group of 6 college students, reached out to the Chef Hostel for a room. We emailed them directly and they responded right away holding a room for us. They provided us with a 6 bed room with a shared bathroom. The ceilings were very high, the beds were long which out 6 ft 2 in member appreciated, and the room was overall very open. The restroom had two shower and toilet stalls each so we never had issues of waiting. Also, the hospitality was great. Their emails were very helpful, and when we arrived they handed each of us clean sheets, toured us around the kitchen, and gave us advice on places to go. We wish we had more nights at the Chef to enjoy their backyard patio, which is perfect for socializing. We highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I would definitely recommend the Chef Hostel, it is not a big hostel so you can easily meet interesting and friendly people. Staff really cares about the guests and tries to help them as much as it possible. There is a very good free wi-fi and beautiful terrasse to sit and talk with everybody. The localization is also very good: 10 minutes walk from the beach and around the corner nice place to spend a lovely evening or night party :) Best days and people ever. You must to visit it!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Staff was extremely friendly, available and welcoming. The room was exceptionally clean and bed very comfortable (high speed reliable wifi too!).
Location is amazing - few steps away from very nice bars, restaurants, cafés.
We also loved the other guests, a young crowd of internationals.

Thank you Roy!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore

Address: 19 Montefiore St., Tel Aviv 6516406, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We found the nicest roomy house in the true city center(financial cultural historical dining, drinking and night life center) renovated it to be a lovely place with great common area, sparkling showers,fast free wifi, beautiful huge patio. We bought the best beds and mattresses, put AC in all rooms, built open kitchen for me,the chef,to cook you simple high quality meals or snacks with products from the Carmel market which is 200 meter away.my kitchen is open for you to teach me and the rest of the guests your tasty creations.grab a cheep beer, chill in the garden with high quality people. feel comfortable We clean 24/7. We speak 7 languages, and will help you plan your city stay and your Israel trip.We also the operator of the TLV hostels tours(revolutionary cost price day tours to dead sea or the northern coastline) chef roy is the founder the slow bed movement that promote good clean and fairness from all sides. Our guests are young European professionals our place is chick but still cheep offers unbeatable location where you will never need a taxi cause all the cool local bars and clubs are 1 min away. beach is 10 min walk and you are dead in the city center . we have a strict set of rules and conditions since it's first of all our home.and we want to keep it nice and tidy. so you feel happy coming back home.Papa Felix, mama Esther,our intimate team of residents and,chef will welcome with to our fun family Mediterranean warmth and unbeatable knowledge. This is a family business, not a plastic faceless cooperation.we like the personal touch and we enjoy our work therefore we hope you are coming to be sociable and have a good time !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Hostel Tel Aviv Montefiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.