We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center to your Saves list
Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ben Yehuda, Tel Aviv 53465, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Last Friday I booked a double room for my wife and myself via some website on the internet.
We arrive at the hotel at about 22:00 for one night , the reception guy was very rude and unfriendly , I asked to open the parking for me he said it was full , I had to go and find a parking far from the hotel and paid 20 us$ for it , more than that I checked the parking lot and found out there were at least 2 free parking spots.
At a certain point the reception guy lost his temper and all of a sudden asked someone else to take care of us????????
The room was very small and old fashioned not the quality we had seen last time we were at this hotel
During breakfast we had a very umpleasant and embarrassing moment when we were told that the roomn is only for one person and we cannot have breakfast (the two of us) I explained that we booked a double room for two persons, after quite a long time and some phone callings they approved that we can have breakfast .In short the hotel staff managed to spoil our weekend , I'll never come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    128
    74
    28
    12
See reviews for
42
88
61
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the penthouse (top floor, Superior Double room with sea view) and it was awesome. Spectacular views from the terrace and even from the bed to the sea and to the amazing sunset over the sea. Sunbeds in the terrace to sunbathe in the afternoon and relax at night. Really worthwile. Even if it is not a front line hotel, it is even better if you book a room or suite with private terrace in the last floor. However, 2 enormous luxury hotels just started to be built and they will probably and partially hide the sunset over the sea.
The room is modern and very confortable. Free wifi Ok.
Very good breakfast with international and local food.
Kind and professional staff. Since it is a French group, a part o Hebrew and English the also spoke French.
I strongly recommend it for its good value for money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Breakfast was a huge choice of hot food, cereal fruit and salad...very nice. The location is good as its just two blocks from the beach and a bit further to Carmel market. The room was functional and the free wifi worked. The bathroom was not spotless when I arrived. The exercise room was just a hotel room with very few machines and limited hours. The staff were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is close to the end of its service life. It is not of Accor Mercure standard. I have stayed in many Mercure hotels as they normally represent a consistent high standard that meets my needs. This hotel does not and I would definitely not use it again.
Ground floor access is poor with extremely limited reception space and an antiquated chair lift the only facility for heavy bags or limited mobility customers.
Even worse, the breakfast cafe is not accessible at all by lift. It was very crowded each day and food selection was only modest.
Laundry took 24 hours for "regular" service, and this was only after several panicked phone calls as I was checking out. There was no price list for washing, only dry cleaning, even when I asked at reception. This means inflated prices and anxiety about treatment of clothes.
Check out was the worst I've seen in many years, and I stay about 80 nights per year in hotels. The two staff were completely overwhelmed. Customers were paying with cash and it was being photocopied! I waited 5 minutes and the same single customers were still being processed. There were 8 pr so waiting before me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nir Z, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations;

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

As a guest whom stays numerous nights a year you probably are aware to the fact that hotels offers dry cleaning only (and not regular washing services), and therefore price list for laundry washing cannot be available.

As it is clearly stated on the laundry form you have filled; dry cleaning service returns the next day; as customary offered worldwide, it is possible to have an express service in few hours with additional fee.

The hotel's security persons are at the hotel's entrance at all times and they offer assistance with guests' luggage; there is no need to specify the disabled lift which is designated for disabled guests.

Our reception staff gives the best service and remains tolerant to each guest; we regret that you were impatient in a short wait of 5 minutes (!!) while other guests have enjoyed the check out service at the reception desk.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed two nights in a Priviledge Seaview room on top floor and paid with Accor Le Club vouchers.

Positives
- wonderful balcony with two loungers and amazing seaview
- well furnished and good inclusions (coffee machine, soft drinks and chocolates)
- Strong wifi signal with routers on each floor
- room clean
- breakfast good on one day
- gave us a free checkout to 3pm

Negatives
- Patchy service; one man was polite and informative; check in and out were bordering on rude (Russian background staff)
- Cigarette butt left on balcony
- Housekeeping average as they forgot to replace things (no new tea, no tissues)
- Priviledge items were not replaced for the second night (no coffee capsules, no soft drinks)
- Room on the small side
- no shelves in the bathroom
- Second breakfast was horrible
- no luggage racks in the room

Overall, we had a good stay, but the standard was not up to an international level. I would stay again if I was using vouchers, but would look at other options too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We chose this hotel on the basis of the reviews here (some mixed, I admit) and because it promised good views from our room. We were not disappointed! We booked a corner privilege room with a very large terrace on the top floor (room for two loungers.) The excellent views alone made this room worth it. Yes, there is not as much room in the bedroom as you might like, though we had a very spacious bathroom (including a window with its own city views) and the room was very bright. Israeli breakfast, i.e. kosher dairy, was good, but no bread as we stayed there during passover. Staff were helpful when we asked about local restaurants etc. Very well located about 5 minutes walk from the beach. Free wifi was very good. a/c worked very well though we didn't have to use it too much as our room (several windows, large doors to balcony) offered a lot of ventilation. Our floor was 100% smoke free as were the public areas of the hotel. Despite the slightly small size of the room, we felt overall that we had a top class experience here and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 1101 is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

stayed there twice this year. First time standard room v e r y average, could not say it was a 4*. Second time in privileged room, somewhat better but still something was missing to mark it highly above average. Maybe the fact that there is not a holder or something to leave flat your luggage, perhaps the weird stuff in breakfast (which is rich but, seriously, who eats pickles and fish in the morning?) or the unusually placed lobby/reception. Nevertheless people are professionally kind and helpful, it's a clean hotel in an excellent location with reasonable prices. Will not excite nor disappoint you either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center

Address: Ben Yehuda, Tel Aviv 53465, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
103 room hotel in an ideal location in the centre of Tel Aviv, close to the shopping and entertainment area and within walking distance of the beach. The hotel has 103 modern rooms featuring parquet flooring, LCD TV, coffee set, minibar, wireless Internet, work out facilities. The hotel lobby serves Continental and health conscious breakfasts, and features business lounge facilities and a bar serving an extensive range of drinks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Tel-Aviv City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.