We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service in the heart of tel aviv” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Social Club - Modern Bistro

Social Club - Modern Bistro
45 Rothschild Blvd | (in the piazza behind Max Brenner), Tel Aviv, Israel
+97235601114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 1,057 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Social Club Tel Aviv represents the meeting place of good food in a lively, happening atmosphere.The restaurant is located in a beautiful piazza on Tel Aviv's historic Rothschild Boulevard, in the heart of the city center and offers a modern bistro menu made from local ingredients. Managing the kitchen is one the country's most highly-regarded chefs, Michael Gartofsky, educated at London's Cordon Bleu and formerly a sous-chef of Gordon Ramsey. Alongside the menu unique cocktails made by the restaurants's mixologist bartenders are served as well as a variety of local and imported wines.The restaurant has a main dining room, a large bar area, a private room for up to 20 diners and more informal outdoor dining in its lively piazza area.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service in the heart of tel aviv”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

This is a popular restaurant and I was worried there would be no tables. Plenty of seating. Was able to step out with my wine glass several times to sit at tables outside. Great food (pasta, meat, chicken, duck) and wine selection. Portions were controlled and everything was delicious. Had a nice waiter and felt taken care of and not rushed. Would come back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    61
    18
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Wine Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Came in with three friends, the waitress was extremely friendly and we immediately discussed the wine choices for the evening. her recommendations for wine and food were excellent and we enjoyed a great evening together.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Really Nice Atmosphere, Great Cocktails, Nice Service, Yummy Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We asked to be seated at the bar, and it was indeed a good choice. Bartender treated us with chasers and the service was friendly and fast. All of their cocktails look good, but don't miss the Ginger Cosmopolitan: a very different and yummy version of the popular drink.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best places in Tel Aviv”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I've been to the Social Club many times with friends, family and for business.
This is one of the best places you can visit with a great variety of modern cuisine, AAA hospitality, a great ambience whether you are sitting on the bar for a casual dinner, on a table for dinner, or out on the porch, enjoying the cool nights.
I've eaten almost everything on the menu, and would especially recommend the Pasta with Mushrooms and duck, the calamari with fava been and the great bruschetas.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We are often disappointed (or not easily impressed) when eating out because we prepare food at home that tops many places. So when we go out to eat, we look for great food, well prepared, above all else. The Social Club has a diverse and tempting menu that doesn't disappoint.

For starters, (after a cocktail) we ordered 3 appetizers (the Sicilian calimari salad, a lovely pate de foie gras with warm bread, and grilled artichoke hearts). It was difficult to choose as each one on the menu sounded so good. Our choices were each very delicious, nicely presented, and abundant. We shared a grilled sirloin steak with the marrow bone and mashed potatoes -- the steak was done to perfection and with a very tasty, not overpowering sauce. We had tiramisu for dessert along with espresso. With drinks (and a 1/2 bottle of excellent Israeli Cabernet Sauvignon from the Golan), this meal was a beautiful way to celebrate my birthday. The server was pleasant, competent, and not overly solicitous. The service was well-paced, not rushed and not too slow. The atmosphere was happy and unpretentious, not raucous; the music was reasonable.

This was our first visit to the Social Club (on the recommendation of our daughter who is a trained chef) and she didn't lead us wrong on this one. All in all, very good value. We will go back another time and see if our second impressions live up to our first!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social Club - Modern Bistro also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Social Club - Modern Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Social Club - Modern Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.