We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good kitchen, still under building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Rooster

The Blue Rooster
Nisim Aloni 10 | Tzameret Park, G shopping mall, 2nd floor, Tel Aviv 62919, Israel
03 544 33 49
Improve this listing
Ranked #297 of 1,000 restaurants in Tel Aviv
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: New place; we had only a first course. Beautiful terrace and indoor complete wooden design (like ski chalet). Chef restaurant. Phone: 03-5443349
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“good kitchen, still under building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we went for a ocial gathering and although you don't expect good food in a 150 people event, the blue rooster did it, and how!
although the first dishes were better than the main course ones, we could feel that soemone in the kitchen did his outmost with excellent materials and the result was great.
what stops me for giving an "excellent" rating has to do with the smoking in the restaurant.
The balcony is a smokers area (pity but that's the rule...) but last saturday they also smoked in the entrance to the restaurant and in the bar - which is located inside the restaurant. bad...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    17
    20
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inventive cuisine skillfully prepared and superb restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Sitting outside on a warm balmy night, the atmosphere was unbeatable. The menu is truly creative. Whole bass, pan fried was crisp on the outside, tender, meaty and fresh out of the sea. Great salad for a starter, a Caesar. Once again, not hum-drum. A strudel desert that was excellent rounded out the dinner. Service was very good, not smothering, attentive and very professional. Great Tel Aviv restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really very good (mostly), priced accordingly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Well of the beaten track, in the newly developed area of north east Tel Aviv known jokingly as the Manhattan of Tel Aviv. Situated on the 3rd floor in the smallish "G" mall, it is a cross between a bar restaurant, ranch house and bistro, with large open Terrace area overlooking the...... building sites opposite and impressive 40+ floor apartment blocks including the well know and prestigious Yoo towers on the other aspects. A breezy location which renders the terrace comfortable even in the current high temperatures (35+ today). Plentry of free parking

Quite high density layout both inside and out which could be an issue if full, not the case today. Reasonably comfortable bistro type seating and table layouts. Certainly not starched linens. Obligatory piped music which unusually was at a reasonable volume allowing civilised conversation. A quiet location (though noisy from the building site opposite during the day).

The usual Tel Aviv retinue of charming if not highly professional young staff, very attentive without the slightest hint of pseudo fluff. Even managed to get the bill and pay it in boot time; something that can often be a challenge in this city!

The menus is relatively short (available in English) with a dozen or so starters,and mains divided between about 10 meat and ten fish dishes. A longish drinks menus including cocktails, which we ignored.

My partner had a Caesar saled starter which I sampled: fresh, tasty but nothing out of the ordinary. Some other interesting looking options which we did not staple thoug others have told us they are very good.

For mains I had a filet steak and my companion a whole sea bass. Now the steak ordered rare re was served rare. Generous size and perhaps the best steak I have had for some time. Accompanied by a portion of beautiful calves liver atop, fine mash, some token vegetables (delicious) and a jus drizzeled over. At $35 ..... Worth it!

My friend described his whole sea bass as the best he has eaten: generous size, fresh from the sea taste (though certainly farmed in Israel). Pan fried to a crisp skin, soft flesh and a chutney type dressing atop. Again worth the $30 tag.

Sweets - a (no more than) nice freshly baked apple strudel with ice cream ball, and a (we think) pans cotta which wasn't great and which we did not order (but kept stum about it)

Our meal including a coffee, largish bottle of Perrier, no alcohol, came to approx $100. Expensive +++ but I think reasonable given the quality of the main courses.

There are many excellent eclectic restaurants in this city. If you are in the area
the Blue Roster it an excellent choice for a good (if pricy) meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Below average food expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Resturant is owned by a very famous chef in Israel.(Aderet ). However he is not present in the place which is quite busy. The food is below average and so is the service . Innovative dishes which looks great but not that tasty. The tuna appraiser was drowned in lemon. The chicken at dory we ok but not more. The bread was fresh and very good . The price is quite steep. The service was not very good we had to Waite long time to get attention from our waiter.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Improving, new restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed some very special dishes. The atmosphire was nice and the service was professional. Will come again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Rooster also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to The Blue Rooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Rooster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.