We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown TLV Urban Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Brown TLV Urban Hotel to your Saves list
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Kalisher St, Tel Aviv 65165, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A cool home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in March during the TLV Marathon.

The awesome staff got us up in time at night to run the marathon and helped us arrange for a excellent deep tissue sport massage when coming back ;)

Perfect location for both beach- and nightlife!

We´ll be back next year for more ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not directly connected to the elevator or the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear OJ_Oslo,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a pampering massage after running the marathon.

Our location is indeed an optimal one and allows our guests to walk almost everywhere they need.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back on your next stay.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    133
    35
    10
    9
See reviews for
23
194
94
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

By far, the best part of staying here was the staff who was incredibly nice and helpful. They kept the outdoor terrace open for us after hours and even brought out heaters without being asked for example.

Location is sketchy, not in the best part of Tel Aviv. Evidently, this is supposed to be a positive in a boutique hotel. Maybe I'm too old or too well traveled...

Room and atmosphere was okay. The whole hotel is brown as indicated by the name and designed in 1970s style. It looked cool initially but got old quickly. The room itself was small and we had plumbing issue with both the toilet and shower that took the hotel multiple trips to fix.

Lastly, the outdoor bar on the terrace is supposed to be a Tel Aviv hot spot. It's nice but still overlooking the back of buildings... Also, it wasn't packed despite our being there on Saturday so I'm not quite sure how "hot" it really is.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear SuitNflipflops,

Thank you for you review and your kind words about our staff who are indeed great and are always looking out for our guests.

We were sorry to hear that you didn't connect with the hotels style and design which was indeed inspired by the 70's with retro furniture and warm colors.

We were surprised about your impression of the hotel location right between 2 of the Tel aviv's trendiest neighbourhoods: Nachalat Benjamin and neve tzedek which are full of boutique shops, cute caffes and various restaurants.

We hope you enjoyed our Garden Lounge and hope you weren't too disappointed about the quiet Saturday eve. Please note that Sunday is working day in Israel and therefore Saturday is not a typical "going out" evening.

Lastly, we apologize for the plumbing issue you encountered. We have treated the problem.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Tel aviv and thank you again for taking the time to share you experience in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

What a great experience I had in this hotel during my last stay in march.
Sometimes I just didn't want to leave the building.... Trust me sun deck helps a lot.
My single room was so cute and it was just perfect for me and my needs.
Staff really friendly and hotel manager (Mr Tamari) more than helpful
Thank you for having me there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Angel 200,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are very happy that you had a good experience staying with us.

Then sundeck is indeed magical and I think you will be happy to hear that we will soon be reopening our rooftop bar for the summer so now you can chill in and enjoy the sunset with one of our summer cocktails.

I do hope that you got around to explore the amazing city of Tel-Aviv and all it has to offer.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With Kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Possibly the smallest room I have ever stayed in, that said the room had everything I needed and the bathroom was well appointed with an excellent shower. The only issue I had with my room was how dark it was and that noise from corridor was a bothersome.

The hotel is an excellent location near nice shops and restaurants and a 5-10 min walk from the beach. Breakfast is in included in the room rate and is served at one of 3 different cafes located near the hotel.

Staff at the hotel left a something to be desired, when I arrived the reception desk was not manned and it took 5 mins for someone to arrive, but instead of checking me in she decided to make a phone call first!

In addition at 9.30 in the morning I the sign on my door asking for my room to be cleaned, but by 4pm nothing had happened. When I complained no apology was offered, however, my room as promptly cleaned but it was clearly a rush job! The hotel was able to arrange a taxi to the airport efficiently and check out was a breeze.

All in all the hotel offers good value and an excellent location, improve the customer service and this could be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Mrbiffo,

Thank you for your review.

We were glad to hear that you felt that the hotel offered a good value and location and that the room, although urban in size, offered everything needed.

We were very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered regarding the staff's service. As a boutique hotel who takes pride and strives to provide the best and most personal service to it's guests, we were very disturbed to read about your experience. Please note that we have taken all your comments very seriously and have addressed them accordingly.

We hope you had a pleasant stay in Tel Aviv and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

When the taxi driver stopped where he thought the Brown TLV Hotel was, he was close, but confused. Where he thought the Brown was, it wasn't. But when I looked nearby, I saw one brown building amid a host of near-white buildings. I told him, I bet that's it. Sure enough, it was. I was immediately stuck by the stylish interior with a 20-foot high bookshelf and comfortable lobby. The small registration area is efficient, and the Welcome glass of champagne certainly was surprising and appreciated. The Brown TLV is a short walk to the beach, and I easily ventured by foot another day to Jaffa. The property is in a prime location, on a quiet street, not far from the Carmel Market and Neve Tzedek. The room is stylish and modern. I'll admit, I've never seen a hotel make the color brown look so cool, so trendy. Room is clean, a bit small, with wooden floors, and a trendy bathroom/shower that is more like you'd have at home as opposed to a standard 4-star hotel. Appreciate the 2 complimentary bottles of Evian Water in the room and, naturally, a box of chocolate! Kudos to the staff -- friendly, helpful and professional. (English and Hebrew). I went with Lulu's Kitchen for breakfast, which is about a 5-minute walk from the Brown, and was very pleased. Good eggs, while others praised the yogurt-granola offering. The outside/covered bar at the Brown was great, comfortable and relaxing. Kudos to bartender Paz for exceptional service and a how-can-I-help attitude. Very impressed with the Brown TLV -- check it out; you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Rossco814,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to write about your experience while staying at the Brown TLV.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and even more to hear that we left such a great impression on you.

We are glad that you connected with the spirit of the hotel and appreciated all the small touches and twists that make our hotel, urban, fresh and warm.
We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff who are the soul of the hotel and do their best to provide our guests the best experience and service possible.

Thank you again for sharing your impression of us.

You are now a trusted friend of the Brown TLV and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

with kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Charming Hotel, free Wi-Fi, a TV with HD channels plus it is a Smart TV which displays information on arrivals / departures and other cool stuff like http://www.boston.com/bigpicture blog :) & more...
It should be noted that the daily parking costs 35 NIS and the parking is very small, about 6 places in total.
Also breakfast is not served at the hotel but at a number of restaurants in the area.
We chose tazza-d'oro restaurant in the nearby Neve Tzedek neighborhood.
Although there is a bar serving snacks and drinks in the lobby & at summer time you can enjoy a rooftop bar.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Haimb,

Thank you for your very kind review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed by our technological services. As we are an Urban Hotel, it is our job to offer our guests modern and smart facilities. Our smart TV's are indeed very cool and helpful and the Wi-Fi is, in our eyes, an important and basic service that we are happy to provide our guests free of charge.

As you rightly pointed out, we offer our breakfasts in 3 nearby cafes. Each one, with a different style and offers our guests the opportunity to experience the bohemian side of Tel Aviv.

Thank you again for posting your impression of our hotel.

We hope to see you back soon for the re-opening of our roof top bar.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here over a weekend and was really impressed with many things... First, the location is fantastic, especially if you want to explore Neve Tzedek and South Tel Aviv. Second, the design of the hotel is very cool... retro, stylish, luxurious, with very high attention to detail. The room was small but had everything we needed.

The hotel bar was also a nice place to spend some time, and we had a couple's massage which was very good indeed.

Just don't expect room service, and breakfast is at any of three local coffee shops in the area within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tal 1976,

Thank you for your lovely review.

It was very nice to hear that you were impressed by our location and design and noticed all the small details of our décor.

We are happy that you enjoyed our Garden Lounge which is indeed a great place to spend some time and relax and had the chance to experience our pampering spa.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your impression of the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon to the hotel.

With kind Regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown TLV Urban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown TLV Urban Hotel

Address: 25 Kalisher St, Tel Aviv 65165, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tel Aviv
#8 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
#8 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brown TLV Urban Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new color in town. In the heart of Tel Aviv's urban scene, at the crossroads of the charming Neve Tzedek quarter and trendy Rothschild Boulevard and a ten minute walk from the beach, the Brown TLV Hotel is an ideal choice for the seasoned business traveler as well as the lifestyle-driven individual eager to access the vibrant city. Arts and culture, dining and nightlife– are all outside our door. The Brown boutique hotel caters to the value-minded, yet stylishly discerning guest. Combining unique retro design, stylish ambiance and personalized service, Brown TLV is an award winning hotel recommended by international magazines such as NY Times, Wallpaper, Conde Nast Traveller, Vogue and Time Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brown TLV Urban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Tlv Hotel Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown TLV Urban Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.