We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown TLV Urban Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brown TLV Urban Hotel to your Saves list
Brown TLV Urban Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Kalisher St, Tel Aviv 65165, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Tel Aviv
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hotel: stylish retro (modern) hotel. Amazing lobby. Lovely sunny garden. Coffee and biscuits on tap all day. REALLY great roof top bar.

Room: I had a single at first which is very small. However its very very comfortable with a great walk in shower. Excellent bottle of wine and gorgeous chocolates on arrival. I was moved to a double which was a decent size.

Breakfast: you choose one of three local cafes, which I loved. Full breakfast including multiple coffees, juice etc.

Staff: could not be better. Friendly, welcoming and professional. I had a few things go wrong, which were just bad luck and not the hotel's fault, but its not what goes wrong, its the way its handled, and it could not have been handled better.

Location: great location. Walking distance to everything and 5 minutes cycle (bike provided by hotel for free) / 20 minutes walk to the beach.

Overall: lovely unusual hotel with great staff. Stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear AllanBLondon,

Thank you for your great review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You captured the essence of the solo room which is quite petit but extremely comfortable and perfectly suited for the solo travel on a budget. As you rightly pointed out, we also have larger rooms and I am glad you had the chance to experience also them.

It's wonderful that you had the chance you enjoy our roof top bar, breakfast options and our complementary bycicles.

We thank you for the kind words about our staff which is indeed very friendly and welcoming.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    146
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
28
225
102
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The location of the Brown is ideal exploring the best parts of Tel Aviv. The rooms are nicely appointed with comfy bed, nice linens, large showers, luxurious bath products, towels, robes and slippers. The A/C worked perfectly and you control it easily. The 3 options for free Israeli breakfasts are each deliciously different experiences in great local spots. The rooftop bar is perfectly relaxing at night and a nice option for sun bathing during the day. The staff are friendly, courteous, knowledgeable, and accommodating. Complimentary espresso, water and fresh baked cookies are a delight. Take advantage of the bikes and ride the entire coastline on the bike trails. Exceeds expectations at every turn including room rates. Highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Floor three was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Carrie B,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for noticing all the small details that most of the time go unnoticed.

We do our best to provide our guests with the most comfortable and relaxing experience posiible. Our different room amenities were hand picked to provide the most comfort possible and we are happy to hear that our guests enjoy and appreciate them.

We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast options, bikes coffee station and roof top bar and especialy that you found our staff to be knowledgeable, and accommodating.

It is always our goal to exceed our guests expectations and it makes us very happy to hear that we have succeeded.

We look forward to your next stay.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Fabulous hotel in a perfect location. From the welcome champagne to the complimentary fresh baked pastries and coffee welcoming you home to the hotel at all hours, the cool rooftop bar sun deck with beds and outdoor showers, and the complimentary full breakfasts at any of 3 wonderful neighboring cafes, there is no better choice of hotel in Tel Aviv. Danny Tamari is the best manager and his staff is exceptional. Thank you to The Wallpaper Guide for this outstanding recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear ellen g,

Thank you for your great review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our roof top deck is indeed one of the best places to catch some sun during the day and watch the sunset in the evening with a cool drink. We are glad that you enjoyed it.

We thank you heartily for your kind words about our staff and our hotel manager who are indeed one of a kind.

Thank you for choosing the Brown TLV as your home in Tel Aviv. We look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Excellent experience during a recent one-night stay at the Brown Hotel. Spacious, stylish lobby and special kudos to the reception staff, who were unfailingly friendly, helpful and welcoming throughout my stay. Yes the rooms are small, but as one person I found my solo room cozy, functional and good value for the rate. The welcome letter, bottle of wine and chocolates waiting on a tray on the bed were a very nice touch. I requested a quiet room and had no noise issues and a great night's sleep. Good central location near Neve Tzedek (with its bars, restaurants and shops) and the beach and Jaffa within walking distance. Having three nearby restaurant options to choose from for the included breakfast was a treat. I really appreciated the warm and intimate atmosphere and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sputnik_NYC,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our cosy solo rooms comfortable and functional. Although our rooms differ in size, they are all designed in the hotel's signature style, they are well equipped and offer a relaxing experience to all guests regardless of the room category selected.

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast options and got the chance to explore our wonderfully surroundings. Tel Aviv is an amazing vibrant city and the hotel's central location makes it very easy to explore it.

We look forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I must admit that this hotel and its staff made my stay a very memorable one. I was with a group of friends and each of us had our own room as they are quite small. It all started with a warm welcome by the front desk team and the smooth uncomplicated registration. And just when you think the welcome is over, you walk into your room to find a friendly letter and great bottle of Israeli wine (which was very good).

The highlight of staying at this property was it's proximity to the vibrant nightlife Tel Aviv offers. We were within walking distance to fine restaurants, the beach, shopping, and clubs. On the weekends they have a nightly social hour on the rooftop bar which offers stunning views. For breakfast, they offer dining options at three different restaurants which I thought was great.

The only minor issues I had was with the bar on the rooftop. My friends and I approached the bartender and ordered a martini which (to our surprise) he had no clue what a martini was. My issue was not with his lack of knowledge of cocktails but it was the fact that he refused to make it for us nor find out if any of the other bartenders could do so.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be a return guest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Dan R,

Thank you for your honest review.

We were very happy to hear that your stay was memorable and you felt it was smooth and uncomplicated.

I am glad that you had the chance to enjoy Tel Aviv. As you rightly pointed out the hotel is located in an amazing area next to the coolest restaurants and clubs in the city. It also doesn't hurt that the beach is only a few minutes away.

Regarding your experience at our roof top bar, thank you for bringing it to our attention. At the time, the bar had been recently open. Nowadays, the bar offers classic martinis as well as fresh fruits' one such as watermelon, ginger and lemongrass. You have to come back in order to try them :-)

We hope to see you and your friends back soon in the hotel.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

what a perfect place - first time a year ago, second time for the weekend after our wedding - perfect location-close to everything - great breakfast in coffee-house near by, beautiful room and great coffee cookies and fruit in the lobby... coming back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Sigsigm,

Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us after your wedding. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay also the second time around.

Our location is still one of the best ones in town it and allows our guests to choose between 3 chic breakfast cafes and be at walking distance of the beach, main shopping streets and great bars and restaurants.

We look forward welcoming you back and once again: Mazal Tov!!!

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My colleague and I stayed at Brown Hotel for one week. I've returned to Brown since my last visit to Tel-Aviv this spring. All my expectations were fully justified. Above the all "excellent marks" I could add only the special atmosphere that exist in Brown, it is a unique feeling of personal touch from hotel personal and home-like attitude to the guests. Next time in Tel-Aviv - no doubts I will stay at Brown.

Room Tip: Take a free bike from the Hotel and drive in the evening along the sea to the port and after along H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementBrownTLV, Guest Relations Manager at Brown TLV Urban Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear RomanGGG,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us again.

We indeed appreciate very much our returning guests and try to surprise them every time with a new addition to the hotel or to our offered services.

The most important thing for us is that our guest's feel at home and have a place to come back to. We are very happy that you felt comfortable with us and we look forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

Paola Roizman
Guest Relations Manager
Brown TLV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown TLV Urban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown TLV Urban Hotel

Address: 25 Kalisher St, Tel Aviv 65165, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tel Aviv
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#20 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brown TLV Urban Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a new color in town. In the heart of Tel Aviv's urban scene, at the crossroads of the charming Neve Tzedek quarter and trendy Rothschild Boulevard and a ten minute walk from the beach, the Brown TLV Hotel is an ideal choice for the seasoned business traveler as well as the lifestyle-driven individual eager to access the vibrant city. Arts and culture, dining and nightlife– are all outside our door. The Brown boutique hotel caters to the value-minded, yet stylishly discerning guest. Combining unique retro design, stylish ambiance and personalized service, Brown TLV is an award winning hotel recommended by international magazines such as NY Times, Wallpaper, Conde Nast Traveller, Vogue and Time Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brown TLV Urban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Tlv Hotel Tel Aviv

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown TLV Urban Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.