We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Hotel & Lounge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gordon Hotel & Lounge to your Saves list
Gordon Hotel & Lounge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   J.L. Gordon st. 2 / Hayarkon st. 136 | corner of Hayarkon and Gordon Street, Tel Aviv 63458, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Had a wonderful stay in the Gordon. the rooms are beautifully decorated and our sea view room had a balcony. The complimentary extras really added to our experience, excellent cocktails in the bar on arrival, wine to enjoy on the balcony, and a minibar that was kept stocked. Staff are very friendly and helpful.Food in the bar - smaller portions, really tasty. enjoyed the funky lighting system in the room!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    31
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
88
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great boutique hotel located by the beach in Tel Aviv. Friendly, helpful service, as well as a great restaurant and bar, offering a nice selection of breakfast dishes (included in hotel rate) and a dinner menu of locally inspired selections.

Modern, clean rooms but a bit small.

Great view of the beach from the hotel balcony, but do remember to bring your ear plugs as the traffic passing by is very loud (you need to cross the street to get to the beach).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I came in Tel Aviv for a medical conference and stayed in this hotel for three nights. The rooms are gorgeous, fully equipped, beautiful bathroom, special computerized lightning, comfortable queensize bed. The breakfast is really good, and people of concierge, waiters and barman are really cute and helpful, always smiling and working hard. Good music at the bar. One morning I had to leave early before breakfast, and they prepared for me a take away breakfast with fruit, sandwich and a quiche. Really recommended hotel. Roberto

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Quick and easy check-in, rooms sufficiently equipped, mini bar & breakfast included in the price, the closet is a little small (no slippers or laundry bag), the shower works well, great cocktails & tasty finger food at the bar, the beach is only 2 minutes across the road, all the staff were very polite, accommodating & knowledgeable. Would definitely consider coming here again, it's hard to feel bored in Tel Aviv!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This small hotel is right across from Tel Aviv's gorgeous gorgeous beach. In 2 seconds you are in the water, with beach towels they provide for you, having eaten a great breakfast (tahini sauce an absolute must) at Salt, the hotel's smallish but highly popular restaurant. The internet is good, the bathroom is separated by a glass wall, simple and spacious and clean.
I'm not sure all the rooms have balconies, but please ask for one, and use it in a classic mediterranean fashion: sit and enjoy the sunset; drink a cocktail from Salt....
The hotel is not very close to the old city but it is surrounded by Tel Aviv's fabulous Bauhaus houses, which are stunning to stroll by.
The staff are helpful and briskly efficient.
I would return to this hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent one night in August in the hotel.
We got a permission for the early check-in without extra charge - to make a weddingbpreparations. The room was elegant, simple and bright.
Breakfast - which is included in the package - can be served in room, wifi internet access in every room, balcony with coffee table. Glass shower with automatic curtain - quite an addition to the bathroom decor. Free minibar with nonalcoholic beverages and snacks. White bathrobes.
The service is quick and warm.
Check out from 12 p.m. till 2 p.m.
Your are one great team, guys, thank you for the delightful experience.
The bottom line - I totally recommend the place.

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view are smaller. The corner rooms have more space and you can still enjoy the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and another couple stayed at the Gordon Hotel for my wife’s milestone birthday. It is a very small hotel with rooms on the second and third floors. The hotel is right across a major noisy highway from the beach. The restaurant and lounge on the first floor were fortunately closed while we were there but if they were operating it would have created a very noisy and crowded facility. Also, a number of buildings in the area are under construction which adds to the noise factor during weekdays. There were not a lot of nice restaurants in the area and the person at the desk was not that knowledgeable about dining options. The housekeeping staff was very attentive.

The rooms are small but well appointed. The bathroom is built into a corner of the room and is separated by a glass wall which can be blocked with a curtain. That layout was slightly better in the oceanfront room but some people might find it disconcerting.

The included breakfast was above average. The first morning of our stay they had delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. After the first day they served unappetizing orange juice from a bottle. When I asked the reason for the change they advised me that oranges were no longer in season which was ridiculous.

The major issue I have with the hotel are with what I consider to be their lack of integrity. We were promised free parking and a deluxe ocean view room. Our troubles started when they attempted to charge us for parking. After showing the parking attendant and the desk clerk the email from the hotel showing free parking, they reluctantly agreed to waive the charge. When we were shown our room, it was not the ocean front room they promised. As an excuse, they told us the room, which was on the side of the building, was in a quieter location. When questioned about the ocean view they stated if you went out to the small balcony and leaned over, you can see the ocean.

After we left, we had an issue with the manner in which they charged our credit card. I emailed them for an explanation and they ignored me. I finally filed a protest with my credit card company and only as a result of that did I get an explanation through the credit card company, I never heard from the hotel.

So in short, we were not given the room we were promised for my wife’s birthday, they attempted to charge us for parking despite written assurances that it was free and they would not respond to an email requesting an explanation of a credit card charge.

I would advise anyone considering a stay at the Gordon Hotel to beware of their business practices. Over and above that, if you do not plan on staying out late at night and partying, the noise from the lounge might be something to be concerned about.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are nicer but noisier and more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gordon Hotel & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Hotel & Lounge

Address: J.L. Gordon st. 2 / Hayarkon st. 136 | corner of Hayarkon and Gordon Street, Tel Aviv 63458, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Tel Aviv
#23 Luxury Hotel in Tel Aviv
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tel Aviv
#47 Family Hotel in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gordon Hotel & Lounge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building in which the hotel is located, is a Tel Aviv historical structure, built during the nineteen thirties, and identified with the Bauhaus style that characterized Tel Aviv at the time. The idea behind the hotel's design, offers a meeting point between the architectural values of the "White City" and the original and innovative design that creates a different, unique and fascinating experience. The pampered experience. The hotel's 12 rooms and rooftop suite, overlook's the spectacular scenery of the Mediterranean Sea. Much thought was invested in every detail of the rooms, in addition to contemporary Tel Avivian Art pieces, and design diversity. The rooms are equipped with the most advanced command and control systems of its kind, which allows you to control the lighting, curtains, climate control system and more, by push on a button. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Gordon Hotel & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel And Lounge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Hotel & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.