We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On shabbat, check-in is 5 pm even if our reservation said 2pm!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Port Hotel

Save Saved
You added Port Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Yirmeyahu St. Tel Aviv /Corner Od Hayarkon St | Corner of 4 Yirmeyahu St., Tel Aviv 63507, Israel   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 86 hotels in Tel Aviv
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“On shabbat, check-in is 5 pm even if our reservation said 2pm!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We would have never booked this hotel had we known that we wouldn't get our room until 5pm. We arrived in TLV at 6am in the morning, we were exhausted and had emailed before arrival to ask if early check-in was possible even at extra cost. Instead, Port hotel said it would be on best effort basis and we got our rooms at 5pm. not good. Other than that, the rooms were clean, and breakfast ok -a bit rudimentary but not bad and the lady serving breakfast was very sweet. The hotel is near the Namal so a good location. That said, I stayed in another hotel when I went back to TLV a few weeks later.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    69
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
69
26
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My friend and I stayed here in May 2010 for 2 nights at the end of 10 tiring days travelling. We had pre-booked a twin room, but on arrival found a double with a bed that couldn't be separated at all. When we pointed this out to the hotel they claimed we'd booked a double. They subsequently admitted they were wrong but had no other rooms spare to move us that night. Over several discussions and calls with reception, they refused to let us speak to the manager. Finally they claimed we could have another room the 2nd night, but then changed their minds. They offered us a discount of $8 dollars which was just offensive. Eventually they agreed to a later checkout by 2 hours and said they would put a refund on the credit card (they never did).
A great shame as the hotel is clean, modern and in a good location but I would not recommend it as their customer service was apalling (even by Israeli standards, which I know well after 4 holidays there).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I travelled to Tel Aviv last weekend for business, and I stayed at the Port Hotel. The staff were really nice and accommodating. The rooms weren't very large but they were clean, and everyone made an effort to satisfy us.

The location is great, next to several bars, clubs, shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

A few weeks ago i went to Israel with my friend. We stayed in Porthotel for 3 nights.
We really loved it. The room was small but nice, new and clean.
The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpfull! They gave us all the touristinfo we needed. We were able to book a daytrip to Jeruzalem in the hotel. They made breakfast to take with us because we had to leave really early in the morning.
Breakfast wasn`t much but enough. There are 2 bikes you can use for free. Very pleassant to ride along the coastline to Old Jaffa.
The beach is a 10min. walk from the hotel. Near The hotel are nice big shops.
I recommend the Porthotel to everybody. Best for short or middle stays. Mayby not so interesting for big families with kids.
At the beach you find very relax looking restaurants with nice food

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Brand new hotel and an excellent and friendly staff

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed 3 nights over New Year at the Port Hotel. At about £80 a night for a double with a reasonable breakfast included, it really is very good value, as Tel Aviv is by no means a cheap city, and the location is very good, 2 minutes walk from the restaurants of the Port area and the beach. Wifi is free and there are free bikes to borrow.

It must be said the rooms are not super-modern or clean, and it was annoying being asked to pay every morning, as if they didn't trust us not to run away, but all in all a good base for exploring a great city.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

When I first arrived in Israel I stayed at the new Port Hotel. The rooms are spotless, if not tiny. Brand new bathrooms with great showers, good wifi, comfortable beds. But because this hotel is new it feels like they haven't worked out some of the kinks, like if you want to make an outside phone call you have to get reception to call for you and then they call you back. Also if you are here on business request separate floors from your colleagues, the hotel is very small.

I really loved the neighbourhood this hotel is in, slightly north of the downtown action in a very nice middle-class neighbourhood with good restaurants and great cafes. Everything is ealsy accessible by taking the #4 sherut or bus down Ben Yehuda or if you are feeling adventurous take one of their bikes. Right on the corner is Cafe Idleson, with amazing coffee and the best pastry in Tel Aviv.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Hotel

Address: 4 Yirmeyahu St. Tel Aviv /Corner Od Hayarkon St | Corner of 4 Yirmeyahu St., Tel Aviv 63507, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 86 hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Hotel ideally located steps away from the renewed Port Zone of Tel Aviv, at the corner of Hayarkon and Yirmeyahu Streets. The hotel designed and aspired by “Port TLV – Past and Future. The location of the hotel enable perfect equilibrium for those how seek for culinary experiences, bars and outgoing night life and the calm, quietude and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Port Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.