We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo Mini Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Galileo Mini Hotel to your Saves list
Galileo Mini Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Hilel Hazaken Street, Tel Aviv 63309, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 88 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Affordable room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for one night in August 2013. We arrived early so weren't able to check-in, but were able to leave our bags at the front desk. The front desk clerk highlighted on the map the various markets that were close by (ie. VERY close) and a recommended coffee shop. Later on after check-in, they were also helpful with restaurant recommendations for dinner.

We loved the location - its a bit of a walk to the beach, but very close to the markets - which we were lucky enough to be there on Friday, so got to go to the Artisan's market which we found much more enjoyable than the Carmel market. The rooftop with the tables and chairs was also very nice. The coffee shop where they provide the voucher for breakfast, was very good - we visited twice. The front-desk arranged a taxi for the airport and was very clear not to pay more/tip, etc.

The room was average but clean - the walls and carpets highlighted the age of the hotel. We also didn't like that there was no additional lock on the room door (ie. deadbolt or even just latch/chain) - earlier in the evening, everytime the neighbours went to open their door, it sounded as though someone was trying to get into our room, and given there was no lock from the inside, this kept us up. It is a small hotel - so make sure to have a map to highlight to any drivers - as no taxi driver that we had (or friends had) knew where it was, as it is a small hotel and not on the main drag. Given the small rooms and old

Given the prices of other hotels in the city, we were happy with our choice for our overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    28
    8
    11
See reviews for
7
64
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Don't expect to party in this place, Galileo hotel is just a descent hotel to sleep in Tel aviv in a good location. Room are small but clean, and confortable. Assuming that you are gonna spend most of your days outside, this hotel is a good deal. The staff is polite and helpful, but not very enthusiast...

Maybe it's just miss a lobby to chill, wait for your girlfriend that is getting ready or meet people... Anyway, I advice to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

i spent a weekend at this hotel, in booking.com it was rated 2 stars so i didn't expect much, so every thing at this hotel was a pleasant surprise. this property deserves 3 stars .i read some of the reviews below, and i agree it was a bit hard to find, i recommend asking for specific instructions from the receptionist. anyway, as said its one minute walk from main street. the i room i got was tiny but geniusly designed and very clean. it shows that someone is taking care of the details. no bad smell, no old facilities, every thing works and is so clean. i liked the choice of elements in the room and how they connect to each other, i liked the pillows and the mattress, slept like a baby and didn't wake up with a back ache . as mentioned its 10 minutes easy walk to the beach through a nice neighborhood. location: authentic environment with many coffee shops restaurants and the famous carmel market. i liked the breakfast too, served in a cute coffee bar not far. on the roof top of the hotel you can find sitting corners looks like new and comfortable where you can sunbathe at day and relax in the evening. hope to return !

Room Tip: book your room directly with hotel and ask for late check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nothing special about the hotel, but the location. The staff were not bad, but some of them had no idea what they were talking about in terms of how to get places. The room was small and the bathroom door didn't shut properly. We saw reviews saying that breakfast voucher is offered, but not to us somehow. I wouldn't recommend for long-term stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We found the hotel was quite difficult to find the taxi driver drove round for 15 mins looking for it but once their the hotel is in an excellent location 1 minute from the Main Street and 10 min walk to the beach, the staff were very friendly and helped us a lot, the room was excellent and for the price we paid was well worth it, breakfast is a voucher to spend in a coffee shop 5 mins from the hotel and was superb, in all a brilliant hotel that we would certainly stay at again, thank you to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just spent one night at this little hidden gem in Tel Aviv. The room was clean as was the bathroom and the front desk was always manned with helpful desk clerks. Free Wifi is another nice perk, as well as a late checkout(2 pm). I felt safe in this hotel as well which is always important. Cons: can be noisy at night depending on which room you are in and which night you stay(there is a bar downstairs) no breakfast in hotel but they give you a voucher to go to a nearby cafe. Overall I would stay here again:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nothing fancy but it's well located as it'd in the middle of the city, right next door to a Shuk (outdoor market) and not too far from the beach and all nightlife. Rooms are small and the showers are tiny but there's free wifi and air conditioning. The air conditioner can make a lot of noise throughout the night but nothing a good smack doesn't fix. The front desk staff are helpful and professional. Housekeeping was very efficient.

Room Tip: Get one in the back, it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galileo Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Mini Hotel

Address: 8 Hilel Hazaken Street, Tel Aviv 63309, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 88 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Mini Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE GALILEO HOTEL TEL-AVIV, The most exciting, location oriented, budget place in town. Located on 8 Hilel HaZaken St, Only 5 Minute walk from Tel-Aviv's beach, surrounding with the newest edged clubs and hip nightlife, this location is best to sense the true vibe of the City That Never Sleeps. If you fancy to scout the hidden places of Tel Aviv, everything is a short walk away: The colorful Carmel Market, the Pedestrian zone of NaChalat Binyamin or the renewed Sheinkin St. With its boutique shops. You can also use the vast public transportation options available nearby. Each of our rooms features Comfortable bed, Working station, A/C, Cable TV, Coffee / Tea, Mini-fridge and a Safe. Our reception is manned 24/7 and our staff will assist you with anything. If you are looking for a small, comfortable, real value for money hotel with the charm and intimacy of a guesthouse, we look forward to welcome you here at THE GALILEO HOTEL TEL-AVIV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Galileo Mini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo Mini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.