We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo Mini Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Galileo Mini Hotel to your Saves list
Galileo Mini Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Hilel Hazaken Street, Tel Aviv 63309, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Little Neck
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just spent one night at this little hidden gem in Tel Aviv. The room was clean as was the bathroom and the front desk was always manned with helpful desk clerks. Free Wifi is another nice perk, as well as a late checkout(2 pm). I felt safe in this hotel as well which is always important. Cons: can be noisy at night depending on which room you are in and which night you stay(there is a bar downstairs) no breakfast in hotel but they give you a voucher to go to a nearby cafe. Overall I would stay here again:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    55
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
6
55
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nothing fancy but it's well located as it'd in the middle of the city, right next door to a Shuk (outdoor market) and not too far from the beach and all nightlife. Rooms are small and the showers are tiny but there's free wifi and air conditioning. The air conditioner can make a lot of noise throughout the night but nothing a good smack doesn't fix. The front desk staff are helpful and professional. Housekeeping was very efficient.

Room Tip: Get one in the back, it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Galileo is a small basic hotel with the most helpful friendly patient staff, and I mean – THE MOST! Its location is perfect – 10 min away by bus or mini-bus to the main bus station and to the train station from where trains go to airport. The way from hotel to airport terminal took me about 40 min. Shops, restaurants and a huge market are right there, the beaches are 7 min. away. Charming Jaffa is about 30 min away by foot. Hotel offers complimentary breakfast in an off-site café, 2 min. away, where you can sit outside watching locals while waitresses accommodate all your needs.

The hotel sent me an e-mail advising of early shops and restaurants closing on Remembrance Day (that happened to be the day of my arrival) which was very thoughtful and much appreciated.

I stayed there twice during two-week vacation – first room was very modest and tiny, the second one had Jacuzzi and a balcony, but also was small, both rooms were impeccably clean.

I definitely recommend this place to insatiable humble travelers who need hotels for sleep only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although reasonably priced for Tel Aviv and perfectly clean, comfortable and adequate for our overnight stay our room was quite small and might not work so well for a significantly longer period. Found Reception staff helpful and obliging and the breakfast voucher arrangement with a local cafe completely satisfactory with omelette, toast and decent coffee provided.

Handily located and within walking distance of the beach, market and Dizengoff shopping area. A loud thrash metal band started up not far away but didn't last long and ceased by midnight.

A small, basic but clean hotel that is recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Location, location, location! This place is situated close to the beach and good shopping streets, so it's a great place to stay if you wish to explore the city.

The room was of a good basic standard, and we had a small balcony in our room too. We also loved the roof terrace.

In our experience the staff was really nice and helpful.

The room was a bit noisy at times, and the jacuzzi slightly flooded the bathroom for a moment, but all in all this was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teixeiras
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It´s rather pretentious to call it a boutique hotel. It plays more on the hostels side, without the advantage of being a budget place. Of course, Tel Aviv is a expensive city. The location is the best advantage in staying there. It´s walking distance from the beach and very close to the market. They don´t serve breakfast in the hotel. They only give you a voucher to go to a Café near there. The voucher allows you to have a extremely basic meal, just a croissant, and a beverage, coffe or tea. The café was a little trendy with many young people. The bartender finished every sentence with the word "enjoyyyyyy....." in a very affected manner. The guy who works in the the reception desk looked bored having to work during the Shabbat and any question we asked he looked very disturbed while he continued to surf the web. We asked him to indicate in a map some nice places to visit in Tel Aviv, and he just pointed to the sea. We asked if that was all and he just said yes and looked like as if we were stupid for not finding the way to the sea on a map.No information was given about the Carmel Market nor the Bauhaus architecture. Stay there if you have just one one day in Tel Aviv and your budget is limited to US$ 100/night. Don´t be afraid by the appearance of the front door. The rooms look better, although a little shabby and tired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited the hotel in Febuary for the second time and again we felt very comfortable. We sayed in a TWIN room #106. The room was equipped with a fridge, safe and coffee making facilities. For 2 persons the wardrobe seems a bit small and also the storage place in the room is quite low. The orange modern arm chair was a little eyecatcher in the "classical" styled room, but the black stain disturbed a little bit.
A flat TV provides international channels.
The air conditioning worked properly for cooling and heating, and it was perfect for the changing weather during our visit, allthough it was a bit noisy.
The jacuzzi was a nice gimmick, but not used by us. But it limited a bit the space in the bathroom. It provides a small window.
The room was located to the more quiet back side, but facing a small court yard and storage for items, what looked a bit shabby. A pub wiht life music is located, but it was only on Friday evening and stopped at 23:00H.
The staff was helpfull, the daily cleaning very good. Breakfast is served at an organic coffee bar nearby, just in a few minutes walking distance away. On Shabbat they offers a breakfast with an omelette, salad and bread, with a hot beverage, or - as the other days - one pastry of oyur choice with a hot beverage!
This place is not luxury but a cozy little hotel in a superb location near Allenby road with a lots of bars and restaurants, shops and snack bars nearby. Walking distance to beach less than 10 minutes. The price was fantastic, for Tel Aviv!
Good access from airport Ben Gurion by public transport in app. 20 minutes.
Next time, again, I would book definitely again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galileo Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Mini Hotel

Address: 8 Hilel Hazaken Street, Tel Aviv 63309, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Mini Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE GALILEO HOTEL TEL-AVIV, The most exciting, location oriented, budget place in town. Located on 8 Hilel HaZaken St, Only 5 Minute walk from Tel-Aviv's beach, surrounding with the newest edged clubs and hip nightlife, this location is best to sense the true vibe of the City That Never Sleeps. If you fancy to scout the hidden places of Tel Aviv, everything is a short walk away: The colorful Carmel Market, the Pedestrian zone of NaChalat Binyamin or the renewed Sheinkin St. With its boutique shops. You can also use the vast public transportation options available nearby. Each of our rooms features Comfortable bed, Working station, A/C, Cable TV, Coffee / Tea, Mini-fridge and a Safe. Our reception is manned 24/7 and our staff will assist you with anything. If you are looking for a small, comfortable, real value for money hotel with the charm and intimacy of a guesthouse, we look forward to welcome you here at THE GALILEO HOTEL TEL-AVIV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Galileo Mini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo Mini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.