We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo Mini Hotel

Save Saved
You added Galileo Mini Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galileo Mini Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   8 Hilel Hazaken Street, Tel Aviv 63309, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Tel Aviv B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Value for money in excellent location friendly staff free wireless internet
Cozy rooms
Definitely go back again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayaShuchman, Director of Sales at Galileo Mini Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the hotel. It is comments like these that enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Haya Shuchman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    49
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
5
52
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Syria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We spend there 4 days and we really liked it. First of all i should say that we where in Tel Aviv bc of going out, and that was the wright location for it.

Every bar or club was wakable so u never needed a cap. even the beach was just some meters away. the guys there where frindly and the rooms clean, maybe a little bit small but ok for us. so i can give that place for the things we looked for 4 point.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayaShuchman, Director of Sales at Galileo Mini Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. A pleasure to read and to share with the entire team!
Your recommendations are very accurate and a great source for future travelers.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future when your travel brings you back toTel Aviv

Best regards,

Haya Shuchman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The sheets were clean and crisp and there was a good selection of TV channels.

Just as well, because I felt seriously unsafe in this neighbourhood and made a conscious decision not to risk going out of the hotel. I locked myself into the room and stayed there for 24 hours until it was time to leave for the airport by taxi.

Unusually, there was a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The coffee and creamer were disgusting and undrinkable, but I was able to boil water, let it cool and drink it safely.

If I were to stay there again (NO!), I would want the main room light to work, the carpets to be shampooed, a shaver point to be installed and a hairdryer to be available.

When I arrived, all the windows were open, which was strange because it was quite a chilly day. When I came to use the shower, I found out why - the drains were super-slow, the water rose up and lapped against the guard rail to the carpet, and it was on the point of overflowing into the room! The shower was also grubby.

The ensuite area was cramped, and the positioning of the washbasin made it difficult to access the lavatory. I had to turn sideways on to get to sit down.

Because the hotel was so bad, I missed out on seeing the sights of Tel Aviv. After a 16-hour flight to get there, this was NOT a happy hotel experience.

Room Tip: Just don't. Just don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I was comfortable with the gritty neighborhood and its proximity to the market, some great cafes, and the beach—a real flavor of Tel Aviv, but the place seems really run down and dirty. The rugs in the two rooms we stayed in were barely vacuumed. I would NEVER take a bath in the tub so don't pay extra for the "jacuzzi" feature. There is a private club in the basement next door with a live band, so don't expect any peace and quiet. At least not on the street side of the building. Oh, there isn't a lobby, no where to park yourself while waiting for someone. That was a problem during a rainy week in November.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for the jacuzzi. The bathrooms are old and stained and cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have stayed at the Galileo hotel. The localisation is rather good, not too far from the sea. But the hotel is noisy, and the room was very dirty. The worst was the bathtub. The description of the hotel told that we had a "jaccuzi" bathtub in the room. In fact, the water was full of dark pieces of disgusting dirt, and this dirty water was leaking from underneath the bathtub, and spread all over the floor, in the bathroom and in the room. It was very disgusting and the smell was bad. We asked the reception to repair the bathtub but the didn't do anything.
Another thing : there is no breakfast room in the hotel. If you take the included breakfast, they will give you tickets to go and buy your breakfast at a coffee shop which is far from the hotel and hard to find.
I won't recommend the Galileo hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varies
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Don't believe ANY positive reviews about this hotel. The location is Hell, and smells of strong urine. Parking is non-existent, and the one-ways streets in the area are maddening; it will take you at least an hour to work your way out of this area to get on a main Tel Aviv road. The reviews that state that it's close to the Sea are fakes. Period. RUN, don't walk, RUN to reserve a different hotel.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed at the Galileo for a week in October 2010. It is a small boutique hotel (only 12 rooms, I believe), on three floors. No elevator or restaurant, if those things are important to you. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are nice and clean, and the water pressure was great. More importantly, the staff is fantastic. They were so friendly and helpful with everything we needed. I loved the personal service. The hotel has a nice rooftop patio, as others have mentioned, which is a great place to chill after walking around Tel Aviv all day. Also, free wireless internet in the rooms which is a nice bonus for planning your day.

The Galileo is a block from the Carmel Market and right near Allenby Street. The area is vibrant, lively and urban. It's also a five minute walk from the beach. We would absolutely stay here again the next time we're in Tel Aviv. If you like big hotels with all the bells and whistles, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a lovely, intimate, comfortable and clean hotel in the heart of it all, don't hesitate to book with the Galileo.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Galileo Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galileo Mini Hotel

Address: 8 Hilel Hazaken Street, Tel Aviv 63309, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Tel Aviv
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Tel Aviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galileo Mini Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Galileo Mini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo Mini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.