We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in my israel's top 5 restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar

Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar
Ben Yehuda St. 182, Tel Aviv 63471, Israel
03-5221224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,024 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $0 - $100
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“in my israel's top 5 restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

expensive but, then again, there is not much competition in Israel at this high standard.
in my israel's top 5 restaurant - kitchen staff, i salut you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    129
    29
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here after reading how good the reviews were and it didn't disappoint. We phoned the same day and managed to get a table no problem, when we arrived it was very busy so had a 5 minute wait in which we were given a glass of champagne to keep us happy(it worked). The service, food and atmosphere were all excellent. I had a sea bass risotto for my main and it blew me away. Wasnt the cheapest place I've ever been to but worth every penny.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food- VERY fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Six of us went to this place. Not as pleasant visually as the seaside restaurants, but the food is VERY good- I had fresh grouper on top of a bed of fresh vegetables, but also had a chance to try a bit of the gnocchi and the lamb fillet, and all of them were outstanding. The cheesecake was also really good, but the best thing was the black cherry ice cream!

I will say that our meals were not served all together, but were just a few minutes apart, so i really wasn't disappointing. It's also a bit pricey, but the food is top notch.

I will definitely return on my next rip to Tel Aviv.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, annoying service and unreasonable prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Ok, the food is good, the place is crowded, obviously to obtain more people in the place.
The waitress seemed very disappointed with our orders, trying again and again to change our picks on wine, starters and mains. And the bill was huge too...

Never again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We made our reservation when we visited Old Jaffa's harbor at evening (highly recommended).
By using the GPS our arrival to the restaurant was pretty quick. However, the main problem was to find a place to park, although they have a parking service (cost you 35 NIS instead of free, if by miracle you find a place to park…).
Their service was wonderful, they told us that the whole process of preparing the food can take us about 50 min. Since, it was done by preparing from the beginning products. We bared that in our mines and ordered some starters. This restaurant specializes on sea food products; therefore, it was wise to eat some sea products….
I choose one of their fish with risotto (sorry, I honestly do not remember their names…) and it was one of the best fish I ever ate. I believe that such a level of deliciousness I have only found in special fish restaurants such as Uri Buri in Acco.
This restaurant is highly recommended for those who love sea food and appreciate the good taste of fish.
In case you intend to arrive by car, I suggest you to think twice, since there is a big parking problem around Tel-Aviv.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.