We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar

Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar
Ben Yehuda St. 182, Tel Aviv 63471, Israel
03-5221224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,070 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Price range: $0 - $100
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Totally mind blowing in terms of food and presentation. So far all the restaurants I have eaten in we're above average and good to very good in terms of food but this place stands out slightly.
It wasn't my favourite in terms of atmosphere but maybe our table was placed slightly doggy away from the main restaurant in a little enclosed winter garden it felt a little lonely and not like part of the restaurant. However the food totally unexpected made up for it ! The tuna tartar wrapped in avocado was not only delicious but also beautiful on the eye. The warm octopus salad with beans is also a must. If u are a foodie this is the place to go )))

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    118
    27
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Shilas during our Easter vacation in Tel Aviv this year. My wive knew the place from earlier business trips and it was part of our plan to eat there during our stay.
We went there after our daughter woke up from her lunch nap and arrived outside of peak hours (~4pm) so that it was no problem to get a table. It was not empty though despite the odd time so that I believe a reservation during normal lunch or Dinner hours is mandatory.

The service was very attentive and child friendly. The food was incredible, here's what we've had:
Red Tuna Caroaccio: incredibly intense flavours of ginger, soy noodles and the Campari sorbet. Very well balanced with the taste of the tuna.
Salad: a great Mix of fresh green salads and herbs
Sea Bass on noodles with vegetables: intense flavours, very creative mix for such a simple dish and of highest quality
Sirloin starter with Cauliflower: again, intense aroma of the individual ingredients, good texture of the meat, great sauce. Definitely one of the best meat dishes we've ever had.

Overall, well worth the money and absolutely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great food (a little bit expensive but worth it). The restaurant located in central TLV.
This is a nice place to bring people from abroad!
I love sitting on the bar with friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent as well as relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I am always suspicious when visiting hyped restaurants, since they tend to eventually care more about themselves than the guests. Shila surprised us in a very good way. A great place were we ate excellent dishes. Sat by the bar where the starters where made and could see the attention to details. Personal service and a cool ambient feeling made it a perfect last evening in Tel Aviv. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Unique dishes, like avocado rapped ceviche, very tasty, pricy but worth the money. Very common with Good vibe! Love the place, highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shila, Sharon Cohen's Kitchen & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.