We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried and tested ,always good to go to !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of olive and fish

olive and fish
2 Jabotinsky St. | Talbiyeh, Jerusalem, Israel
5665020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 481 Restaurants in Jerusalem
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tried and tested ,always good to go to !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Helpful and cheery waitresses.
Business lunch very reasonably priced.
Food fresh and tasty.
The bread with the meal tastes more like cake. Too good but very yummy !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    70
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD, GOOD SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Olive and Fish is a very lovely restaurant. Tables are situated such that you can have a private conversation. Three of us were there recently and we had a great evening.

We had two appetizers: soup of the day and chopped liver pate with a plum sauce.

The soup was vegetable and the bowl was huge! It did not skimp on the veggies as the bowl was full of them.

The liver pate was excellent- just perfect in fact. The plum sauce was an unexpected treat. Just enough tangy sweetness to off set the liver.

Two people shared a large steak, cooked to perfection. The third person had chicken schnitzel. Perfectly fried just the right amount, the schnitzel was moist and tasty. The french fries were crispy- just the way we like them.

The waitress was fantastic, appearing from time to time to see how we were doing. She was not obtrusive, but was in fact, quite good.

All in all, it was a great way to spend an early evening. Prices were excellent, portions large, and the atmosphere compelling.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Makes it a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We went here on a Wed early eve, and it was well worth it. We were greeted warmly, served graciously, and fed with wonderful food and wine at a linen-draped candlelit table. This was not really a special occasion, but the staff and chef here made it feel like one. We shared an amazing mushroom starter, a melt-in-your-mouth delicious steak dinner and the best chocolate dessert we have ever had. A little spendy but well worth it. Attentive service. Romantic. We also really liked the unexpected warm focaccia bread with toppings that came before the starter.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Average restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Ate here whilst staying nearby. Glad we had booked because it was full of Israeli families.Unfortunately they all had large numbers of unruly extremely noisy kids so the evening's dining experience was spoilt! The staff were friendly and helpful and we had Hanukkah Latkes for a starter on their recommendation. We all had the St.Peter's fish fillets for main - lovely pieces of fish on vegetable cous cous. We escaped the noise before sweets.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Plentiful and very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We were four people and thankfully we made a reservation because there was a large group in the main room. It was a Tuesday night. Daughter Shani was there and I think she helped make this a lovely experience. Three people had St. Peter's fish which was good...but the moussaka was superb.
We have eaten in this restaurant before...it is certainly convenient to hotels on King David,Jabotinsky and Kerem hayasod streets.
Dessert was too good!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed olive and fish also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to olive and fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage olive and fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.