We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of olive and fish

olive and fish
2 Jabotinsky St. | Talbiyeh, Jerusalem, Israel (Givat Ram)
5665020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 465 restaurants in Jerusalem
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a meal there one night, near our hotel so it was very convenient. Food was good. Worth a try.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    88
    58
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We ate at Olive and Fish twice while in Jerusalem- everything was delicious! The first time we had the moussaka appetizer, Israeli salad, duck, and one of the chicken dishes, and the second time we had the salad again (it was great), the entrecôte, and the sea bream. Everything was cooked to perfection. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently visited Fish and Olive with two other couples only because one of them observed kashrut (kosher) and the restaurant was convenient to our hotel. I had passed it by scores of times and never found it inviting from the outside. I was plesantly surprised to find a larger space than the outside would have indicated with a very nice ambience and an extensive menu. We arrived without reservations at 7:30, and although the restaurant was crowded the maitre d' arranged seating for us in an upstairs level within 10 minutes. The entire staff was more than accomodating, spoke excellent English when describing the specials and gave us the entire night before we asked for a check. The food was better than average kosher fare with everyone at the table pleased with their dish. The filet of sea bass over asparagus and tomatoes was excellent as was the dijon marinated chicken shnitzel. The very convenient location makes it an excellent choice for the several nearby hotels.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Decent spot for a Jerusalem meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were 5 peple and other than a bit of a delay getting the billing worked out had an enjoyable meal. The food was a little better than average and the service was friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant (Get the Chicken with Honey!!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We ate here last month on our second night in Jerusalem. We enjoyed it immensely! As soon as you sit down they come out with a wonderful lemonade and mint carafe for the table. Next come all kinds of salads and dips to try with pita breads. I had the chicken made with honey and dates, and have been thinking about it ever since!! My partner had the lamb kabobs-but thought it would be done in chunks, rather than in meatballs. We ate out in the front enclosed porch, but walked around inside also. The ambiance is lovely. The wait staff is very attentive and had a very neat appearance. I would definitely go back and wish I could get the recipe for the chicken! It was unbelievably good!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed olive and fish also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to olive and fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage olive and fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.