We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and delicious Christmas breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waffle bar

Waffle bar
Shlomtzion Hamalka 11, Jerusalem, Israel
077-2030119
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 481 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Unusual and delicious Christmas breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I went here on the morning of December 25th to enjoy a sweet breakfast with my sisters. We were the only customers there and thus had the full attention of the waitress, who was attentive but not annoying.

The restaurant itself is very modern and looks clean, and thus it was a very pleasant place to have breakfast in. The three of us choose the set breakfast menus, which were of good value considering it is a chain restaurant in Israel. The pancakes could have been a bit thicker though, and we were only served six small ones. With the amazing sauces and fruit salad on the side, I would have liked a few more. The yoghurt my sister ordered was served with a fresh fruit salad and granola and was huge - very filling and she was not even able to finish it! The juice served was not fresh and I could have done without it, but we enjoyed coffee and mint tea with the breakfast.

All in all, it was a lovely start to Christmas day, and I will definitely be back to try the rest of the delicious items on their menu!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Hot Chocolate Place in the German Colony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have heard great things about the Waffle Bars and so I tried the one in the German Colony on Emek Refaim. They make their Hot chocolate with disks of real chocolate and so this makes for a creamy drink. My only complaint with this place and with Aroma and others is that they do not mix the chocolate and so you have to mix it when it comes. Was very rich and delicious and they served it hot which is the way Like it. They also provide free Wifi. I did not have any of the food but I am told by others that it too is good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Two of us went there on a recent Saturday night. The ;place was crowded and noisy, but it was easy to see why.

We split a mushroom/cheese crepe that was huge! It was cooked to perfection and served with salad. Quite frankly, it was excellent. Very, very tasty and quite filling.

About 30 minutes later, we ordered two of the banana waffles: banana ice cream (we got vanilla instead) served over a huge waffle. The bananas were arranged in a most interesting and artistic manner. There was chocolate sauce and fresh whipped cream. We should have only ordered one and split it as it was incredibly large. It was so pretty we both stared at our waffles for several seconds before we decided to dig in and eat it.

The taste was sublime. The ice cream was excellent. The bananas were fresh. The chocolate sauce and whipped cream were amazing.

Service was attentive without being obnoxious. There was no pressure to leave even though there was a line of people outside waiting to get in.

We would absolutely go there again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always room for a waffle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We went out for dinner to a wonderful Italian restaurant and were quite satisfied when we left. We walked around after dinner window shopping and enjoying the beautiful night when we came upon Waffle Bar. We viewed the menu and decided to stop for dessert. We shared a delicious waffle with bananas, chocolate, and whipped cream and decided there's always room for a waffle for dessert. They have quite an extensive menu including salads, pasta and other entrees. You can even get a shot of liquor in your coffee!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'll start by saying that no one in my party had the dessert waffles. The dinners were big and we just did not have the room. But, the waffles looked great. Two of had the focaccia s, which were very tasty and plenty big. The dinner came with a salad. The other person had the Chinese salad and enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waffle bar also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Waffle bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waffle bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.