We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere with gourmet food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tmol Shilshom

Tmol Shilshom
salomon 5, Jerusalem, Israel (Givat Ram)
02-6232758
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 461 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $7 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere with gourmet food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A smaller restaurant with informal library setting. People work on their computers and relax while enjoying the delicious food. the bread was among the best I've ever had and the dessert topped it off perfectly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    56
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just the Perfect Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter had heard of Timol Shilshom so as a treat i took her there for her birthday. Everything about this restaurant is wonderful. We had omelets that were delicious and freshly squeezed orange juice in addition to tasting dishes and wonderful bread.The coffee and the banana bread were superb. The waitresses are gracious and efficient and the chef came to our table and shared a recipe. The owner for whom this is not only a business but clearly a labor of love is very special. We were surrounded by books and the architecture of Jerusalem with high domed ceilings and a beautiful original tile floor. The price for breakfast was very reasonable. I left some papers on the table and when my daughter ran back to the restaurant, the waitress actually poked through the garbage till she found them. Now that's service!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A very special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The place is located in the old neighborhood of Nachalat Shiva'a in the center of the city.
Food is good, especially the Italian Shakshooka.
You can stay and read as much as you like, there are books in Hebrew and English.
They have a nice but small porch which in the summer gets filled quickly.
Service is good, waitresses are polite and fast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great food, great service and great atmosphere, healthy fresh Israeli and international dishes, comfy relaxed environment and lots and lots of books.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We really enjoyed this combination bookstore and restaurant. The people there were very friendly. Our server was especially cooperative. The food was very good and reasonably priced.
We liked the laid back, comfortable atmosphere. They were serving special foods for this time
of year. Would definitely return..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tmol Shilshom also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Tmol Shilshom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tmol Shilshom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.