We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of cielo

cielo
ben sira 18, Jerusalem, Israel (Down Town West Jerusalem)
02-6251132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 508 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stumbled on this restaurant as we walked around Jerusalem and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the meal. We enjoyed it so much we came back on a second evening.

It is small with only a few tables, so we were lucky the first evening (we were early), but made a reservation for the second.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Last night of vacation-perfect dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is one of the better "Italian" restaurants in all of Israel. The small dining room lent itself to a cozy intimate dinner with superb entrees and appetizers.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere & Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Recommended by our tour agency in the states this was one of the best meals while in Jerusalem. Delicious pasta (lasagna) and excellent grilled fish (they also have beef veal and chicken on the menu), great arugula salad. It was a warm relaxing restaurant after a long day of touring plus we actually had good service in this restaurant which we learned was a bonus prize in Jerusalem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long grove, il
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So this worked out very well!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Our concierge recommended Cielo, but we thought we had other plans. At the last minute, we walked past it and decided to give it a try. Small, quietly modest in style, but excellent food. The service, which seemed so brusque when I was strongly discouraged from ordering two pasta dishes, was very polite and efficient in retrospect, with an actual hint of charm! My wife and I each had different ravioli Primas- mine was stuffed with chicken livers and was delightful. My entree of veal medallions in Marsala sauce won me over...ended up loving it! The desert selection was typical Italian, and complimentary Lemoncello was a great finish.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent main dishes. Forget the rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The four dollars restaurant ha just seven tables, covered with yellow and white table clothes wine glasses and all the charade.
Wine in glasses and beer variety a are not the strongest side of the place. They do offer Pellegrini water.
Firsts: the Sicilian calamaries were good, the moules, however, were
salty and I could not eat it.
The main dishes were excellent. We had grilled Bream (superb) and veal medallions in sour cream
(See pictures).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cielo also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.