We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Northern Italian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of cielo

cielo
ben sira 18, Jerusalem, Israel (Down Town West Jerusalem)
02-6251132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 505 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Northern Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A tiny place, very few tables. Very romantic restaurant. Special dishes that change daily based on expensive raw materials. Love the ravioli and the tornedo steak. Rich and delicious chocolate mousse.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“a cozy Italian restaurant with an extensive menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We happened upon cielo while walking around looking for a place to eat. The menu, large and varied, is amazing. We had a wonderful meal for a good price. Lovely waitstaff and good service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great Italian in center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We liked the food and the young lady running the place was lovely. The restaurant was very plain, no pictures, color or ornaments or any style. Just 7 tables and good food. You might pass it by unless you knew to look for it. We had seen it on our way to another restaurant and saw that it was mentioned as a "choice" in one of the guidebooks. 3 minutes from the David Citadel Hotel downtown.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our tour guide recommended this wonderful Italian restaurant.. we had their seafood especialties from appetizer to the main course.. the desserts were good.. as well as the side dishes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
149 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Northern Italian Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After over a week in Israel, we wanted to try other restaurants. Our tour guide suggested this Italian restaurant which was different than most I've tried except for the Tiramisu. But I'm thankful for having tried the specials for the day. I had a soup in green color because I think it had some pease pureed in it but with pieces of squid and fish in the bottom. Delish! Go check out my blog on this restaurant at www.foodyholic.com

The Proprietor was very kind to accommodate us an hour and a half earlier than our original reservation. We had a wonderful dinner and the seafood was well prepared. Even without wine, we found it a little pricey. But maybe because we tried the more expensive specials off the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cielo also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.