We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herodion, well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herodion National Park

Herodion National Park
Jerusalem, Israel (Givat Ram)
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 178 attractions in Jerusalem
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Ancient Ruins, Geologic Formations, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Herodion, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have been at Herodion twice and took our grandchildren with us this time and they loved it. Herodion has an exciting story to tell and what a view!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    32
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“That Herod, he built and built, and built”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Fascinating place, however read up before you go or hire a guide as there isn't a lot of detail available onsite. Be sure to walk thru the tunnels. This site only takes about an hour and a half to walk but have water and a hat and it is moderately strenuous and really not handicap accessible

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Herods Fortress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We travelled in a taxi from Jerusalem, we visited the Christian Information Centre near Jaffa Gate and they recommended taxi as the easiest way to get there. Our driver was also recommended by them his name was Nader, we could not have asked for better. Nader was polite, nothing was a bother and he was obliging and wanted us to enjoy our time with him. Herodion is a steep climb, early in the morning is a definite in the heat. The ruins are fantastic and make sure you go underground to the water cisterns the steps are steep and even worse coming up ut well worth the effort

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Herod`s Palace, Tomb, with views of distant Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Herod (the king we all learned about at school or Sunday school) was a tireless builder of cities, palaces and the great port at ancient Caesarea. Herodion sits in a volcano shaped hillock above the plain. The inside hollowed out, full of tunnels and chambers. Great
views from the top after a vigorous climb. Best done with organised
tour and guide. Different from anything you have ever seen or done before.Do surf Internet to get the proper perspective before your visit.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a little out of the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It was interesting to finally see the place that I had read so much about. It is out of the way to get to. Once there, you need to get a pamphlet and basically do you own tour. In hindsight, I feel if we had a guide, or tour it would have been a better experience.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herodion National Park also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Herodion National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herodion National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Herodion National Park to your Saves list