We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Optimal location, good breakfast buffet, worst internet ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prima Royale

Save Saved
You added Prima Royale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prima Royale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Mendele Mocher Sfarim St, Jerusalem 92147, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Optimal location, good breakfast buffet, worst internet ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The rooms are nice -- however the carpet needs to be thoroughly cleaned. I like the fresh fruit in the room every day. There is plenty of space and amenities are new (incl. TV with many international channels).

Breakfast is copious, except the Espresso Maker is switched off during Shabbat. Makes no sense to me -- after all elevators are still running.

Internet is mostly useless. The system just cannot deal with the amount of users. For USD 10 per day, this is unacceptably bad.

The highlight of this hotel is the location. It is only approximately 15 minutes from the Old City.

Room Tip: Do not bother with the expensive in-room internet. It barely works. Unless you are like an insomniac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliranSinai, Manager at Prima Royale, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are more than happy to welcome you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    176
    68
    26
    14
See reviews for
88
124
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ZIKRON YAACOV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

excellent location .we went by foot to the old city and Mamila.
the surrounding is very quiet and pleasant.
parking at the basement is very conveniant.
comfortable room
kind and very nice staff advised us about reachig various places of interest
as a citizen of israel and a jerusalem born-i will come again.
shuki

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliranSinai, Manager at Prima Royale, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your in depth report on our hotel 
It is always nice to hear such nice and warm full compliments about our hotel and service.
We are very happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay at the Prima Royale hotel and in Jerusalem.
Hopefully we will see you back with us in Jerusalem soon.
Again, thank you for posting your comments and for recommending our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Formerly known as the Windmill Hotel (which did not enjoy a sterling reputation) the Prima Royal was a very pleasant surprise. We were booked into the hotel as part of a group. The staff was extremely accomodating--we drove our car from another part of the country and asked if we could park it in their garage for the four days our group would be traveling out of town and there was not the slightest hassle whatsoever--or charge! The hotel is located on a quiet side street half a block away from the more luxurious Inbal Hotel, the Dan Panorama and the King Solomon. The rooms were small but spotless and WI FI was available free in the lobby but was not available (even at a cost) in the rooms. Free newspapers in English were available at breakfast and the buffet was more than sufficient. A piano player offering jazz and showtunes was a nice touch never seen at breakfast! Anyone looking to save a little money and still have great service and a clean hotel will find the Prima Royale pefectly fine without luxury.

Room Tip: There is a full spa and fitness room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliranSinai, Manager at Prima Royale, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Wow!

Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you liked your stay at the Prima Royale hotel.
We are glad that you enjoined your stay, hotel staff service, the food and beverage and amanitas of the hotel.
We are at Prima hotels are doing the best to make our guest fell at home away from home and are glad that you have returned to stay with us for the second time.

Hope to see you again in one of Prima hotels throughout Israel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stay in the Prima Royale whenever we stay overnight in Jerusalem (we live in Haifa). The staff is always friendly, the rooms are always very clean, the new sheets actually fit the beds (my wife hates hotels where one fights with the sheets all night), the breakfast is very good without being ostentatious, and the fellow playing piano during breakfast adds a lot to the experience. And, to top it all off, there is usually parking in the hotel garage, a huge advantage to those driving in from out of town...and if the garage is full, it is usually not too hard to find street parking in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliranSinai, Owner at Prima Royale, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and wonderful review. We are glad that you feel at home with us at the Prima Royale and that you enjoyed your time in Jerusalem. Hope to see you again soon in Jerusalem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The services vary with different staff.

After we checked in the first night, we found a few things made us feel that we need to rate it down:
1) we found dirt in the toilet that seems rather unacceptable (I still have the photos)
2) the base coating of the water boiler was detached and broken into pieces that made the boiler no longer usable
3) we booked a hotel for two, but there is a 3rd bed in the room that make the room too cramped to move around.

We reported 2) & 3) at the front desk the next morning (and cleaned the 1) on our own) but nothing had changed when we return our room in that evening. We reiterated the 2) to a different staff at the front desk and it got fixed in that evening.

However, the most unsatisfactory thing is the following. We spent almost an hour in writing 5 postcards to send to our family members, ourselves and friends and we were asked (btw, the front desk staff had been quite helpful) to deposit them at the bell boy box so that the hotel will mail it for us.

We deposited the cards on 1Apr but we did not see the cards for almost 4 weeks by now (28Apr), we are not sure it’s the hotel’s issue but we tend to believe the Israel Post Services is not that substandard.

All in all we spent 6 nights there and checked out on 2Apr, we enjoyed the breakfast there and it’s good location, that you can walk to the Old City within just 20mins!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliranSinai, Manager at Prima Royale, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for placing your opinion at the Tripadvisor.
Providing a better service is our goal, consequently we are grateful for your constructive notes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at is his hotel for two nights..the rooms are clean and nice. The breakfast is average ..the staff are very nice and helpful.
The location very close to the city center.
This is a nice hotel for tourist, groups and not that much for families.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliranSinai, Manager at Prima Royale, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks do much for taking your time to post a review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Jerusalem, at the Prima Royale hotel.
Hope to see you again in Jerusalem on un one of our other hotels throughout Israel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My expectations were exceeded. Very comfortable room with excellent service thriughout the hotel. Centreally located to walk to the Old City, Ben Yehuda area and Kotel - and many other sights. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliranSinai, Manager at Prima Royale, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your kind words about our hotel.

One of the nicest things for a hotel to hear is that guests enjoy their stay with us.

We hope you will be returning to stay with us in Jerusalem soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prima Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Royale

Address: 3 Mendele Mocher Sfarim St, Jerusalem 92147, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#21 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prima Royale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prima Royale is an exclusive hotel designed specifically to serve business travelers who seek maximum comfort paired with a chic, clean design. Recently opened, the hotel is situated on a quiet street in the Talbieh neighborhood and is within a walking distance from Jerusalem's Wailing Wall, old district and other major tourist attractions. • 133 Rooms • suites • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel TV • Safe deposit box in room • Synagogue • Business Center • Private meeting and seminar rooms • Fitness Room, sauna and Spa treatments • Rooftop Bar & Lounge • Free wireless internet in public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Prima Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Royale Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prima Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.