We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to old city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prima Royale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Prima Royale to your Saves list
Prima Royale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Mendele Mocher Sfarim St, Jerusalem 92147, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location to old city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

paid US102 per nite, smallish room, the dinner at hotel ok
breakfast standard fare, very close to old city
staff friendly but english skills subpar

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    191
    77
    28
    14
See reviews for
99
134
40
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

the good: outstanding residential location near town center, nice property, very decent rooms (ask for high floor with view), and some staff make an effort. heterogeneous clientele -- americans, israelis, australians...
decent breakfast. nice toiches -- live music in lobby some evenings, and at breakfast.

the bad: no gym AS ADVERTISED; make sure you take a copy your confirmation of room rate with you, as when i checked out, a sleazy israeli deskperson overcharged me and supposedly could not find the correct rate (they are supposedly refunding me the difference -- we'll see) -- she had an awful attitude the whole time i was there; the toilet leaked when i arrived, but a staffmember fixed it (he made up the rooms at night and was the nicest person working at the hotel).

expect that when you buy time on their computer in the "business center" that the staff will not tell you that you must use it -- either one-half hour or full hour -- at one sitting. five times my room key card did not work, requiring a ride down the very slow elevator to get a working key (often happens after housekeeping is in room).

no maps of the area as other hotels have, only a hand-drawn useless diagram of the immediate area.

all in all, i felt they made an effort, there was some nice small touches, but they need to get more honest and get their act together. please remove "gym" from the description.

  • Liked — location, room quality
  • Disliked — lack of hotel honesty at a number of points; room key doesn't work; no gym as advertised
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Unfortunately our stay here was not nearly as comfortable as our hotel in Tel Aviv. We were recommended by a friend to stay at the Prima Royale but only if we could get a good price ($160US) and thank goodness we did because we'd be terribly disappointed if we'd paid any more. Let's start with the GOOD: the location is ideal, the actual rooms are cozy and attractive and the breakfast buffet was great. The BAD: front desk is spotty and not at all helpful with tourist information (the bellboy was better, put it that way). They'd simply hand you a brochure or maybe tell you about a ticket package (not interested). They were lukewarm (all of them) at best with greeting or interest. Our room keys would stop working, this happened 3 times. Just inconvenient. Now for the really BAD: housekeeping. Every day something was wrong. Either they didn't clean (just folded the bed and left new towels), they forgot soap and one day even TOILET PAPER. I don't think they ever cleaned the sink , sink area or changed our bathroom glass cups. One day they forgot to make the bed. Things like that... very inconsistent and just unpleasant. One more BAD... our room faced the back of the hotel which is nothing to complain about except one apartment building tenant had their large dog tied up to a fence and it barked every day around 7am and on. It was obnoxious. We could see it (and obviously hear it!) from our room. We felt bad for the dog and really wanted to yell at the owner!!!

My advice would be to look in the same area for a hotel with better customer service --- or if you do choose to stay here, don't pay more than $200US because you'll be unpleasantly surprised. It's really a budget hotel with pretty rooms after our experience.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

This is not the top standard you would expect from this type of hotel.
Even though the staff are friendly, it doesnt make up for the poor breakfast and dirty rooms. Stay somewhere else... I will.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

We stayed here for a bit over two weeks while I attended a conference a few blocks away. We got a really good rate through the conference organizer ($90/day for a couple) and at that rate the Prima Royale was a bargain. If I had to pay full price I might think about looking elsewhere.

Location is excellent, on a side street so fairly quiet but a reasonable walk or short bus ride to the Ben Yehuda mall and also walking distance to the Old City. A couple of nice restaurants a block or so away. The renovations (I had stayed here some years ago as the Windmill Hotel) are nice and give the place an upscale European look.

Drawbacks: rooms are tiny and there is no dresser (nor room for one!) so with only a small closet we lived out of our suitcases. Some of the staff were very nice, some were a bit surly. Breakfast was decent though repetitive -- hot dishes were not really rotated much and none of the food was labelled so it was a guessing game to decide what stuff was. The lobby lounge/coffee shop had an impressive-looking menu but other than coffee, soda or beer none of it was actually available. Only a few channels were available on the television and when we arrived the only English-language channel was France24 which is apparently an English-language French channel. Within a couple of days they had added CNN and BBC as well.

For $90 a night it was more than fine but if I were paying say $150 or so and staying only a few nights I might either save some money and go to the YMCA Three Arches or splurge a bit for the Dan Pan across the street.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

Stayed at the Prima Palace - Jerusalem from 6/30/07 through 7/6/07. Hotel is off a very safe and quiet residential street just west of the Old City. Very easy walking distance to the Jaffa Gate and several of the other main Old City attractions. Walked up to Ben Yehuda street almost every night of my stay, taking me roughly 15 minutes to get there on foot.
Hotel rooms were clean and included a fridge and working AC (both musts for me). Hotel staff very friendly, all spoke English, and were very helpful. Though the breakfast never included meat (I'm not Jewish and like to have meat for breakfast, at least occasionally) what was presented was of high quality and we were treated to live piano music each morning. I'd recommend this hotel and would stay there again, if I ever return to Israel. I'm from the U.S.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No meat at breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

We stayed at the Prima Royale for 3 nights. I regretted not having booked longer. Rooms, not too big, but clean and very good large beds, airco works fine, windows open and the staff very helpful and kind.
Location is perfect. Walking distance to Jaffa gate 10 minutes and 10 minutes to the best restaurant in the new ciry: Chakra, and the pedestrianised area with shops.
5 minutes to YMCA where you van also eat outside!

Linda Bonn
Holland

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prima Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Royale

Address: 3 Mendele Mocher Sfarim St, Jerusalem 92147, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prima Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prima Royale is an exclusive hotel designed specifically to serve business travelers who seek maximum comfort paired with a chic, clean design. Recently opened, the hotel is situated on a quiet street in the Talbieh neighborhood and is within a walking distance from Jerusalem's Wailing Wall, old district and other major tourist attractions. • 133 Rooms • suites • Courtesy Tea & Coffee making facilities in room • Mini refrigerator in room • Multi channel TV • Safe deposit box in room • Synagogue • Business Center • Private meeting and seminar rooms • Fitness Room, sauna and Spa treatments • Rooftop Bar & Lounge • Free wireless internet in public areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Prima Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prima Royale Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prima Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.