We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hashimi Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hashimi Hotel and Hostel to your Saves list
Hashimi Hotel and Hostel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Souq khan El-zeit # 73, Old City | Old City, Jerusalem, Israel (Muslim Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 53 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked this on the strength of reviews and its great location in the heart of the Old City. The be-gowned reception clerk was not at all friendly, very dismissive of us Western women. The room was very very small and very noisy as there was a lot of activity of the local shopkeepers both early am and very late too. It appeared clean although we didnt look too closely. The bathroom less so though could have been much worse.

It was close to Ramadan and jerusalem and this hotel were filling up. However, that's not an excuse not to clear up after guests (or the family where the kids careered around the hotel on scooters) weho had been eating in the reception lounge. One afternoon we came back to find the very same detritis of a meal that had been there when we left that morning.

The impression I got was that the hotel 'tolerated' guests rather than welcomed them.

Furthermore, the Old City closes around 7.30 in summer and it is VERY DESERTED and not a place one would feel same wandering around. That leaves us with no where to eat or socialise.

The hotel had a lovely rooftop patio with great views but there was no service there. Would have been a perfect place to serve snacks or light refreshments had the hotel been more interested in its guests.

very disappointing

Room Tip: Away from the market!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    97
    37
    29
    26
See reviews for
58
72
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beersheba, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hashimi for a night in Jerusalem and considering it was the cheapest hotel that came up on our search, we felt like we really got a bargain. The room was small and simple but neither of us wanted to spend much time in the room while the beautiful rooftop garden beckoned with fantastic views of the old city. It took us about five minutes to walk from Damascus gate (10 if we got lost) and about the same amount of time to the Western Wall. The staff were very, very helpful as we figured out our transport links for the next day and they really made us feel taken care of. It comiments the East Jerusalem experience very nicely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Good and affordable place to stay for a couple of nights. Rooms are small, but this doesn't matter because your only spending time in the amazing city. The rooftop terrace is on of the best ever! Take your breakfast up to the roof and enjoy! Bathroom is somewhat small and the shower isn't perfect, but good enough for this price. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great affordable basic hotel in the centre of the old city. It is clean, safe, good bed, got a good shower, amazing views from the roof terrace and miles cheaper than any thing else in Jerusalem. Plus the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Been to this hotels quite few times.
Best thing about this hotel is the location, can never find a hotel in the middle of the old city souq as well as the Dome of the Roch like this one. If you're in the city center then you have nothing to worry about!
Though, breakfast was ok, rooms were ok, not super comfortable but not bad. Not a special\great hotel but cheap and good for those looking for excitement and accessibility to the old city's secrets.
Staff is very nice and helpful.
Be careful as to when you want to book, oh, I should add that it gets more and more interesting during the Muslim holidays an the month of Ramadhan, amazing experience even for non-Muslims!

Room Tip: Choose a room where you can see the golden dome, you'll never forget that view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is located in close proximity to Al Aqsa mosque a 7 to 10 minute walk.The rooms had good wifi and breakfast was ok.
The rooms were tiny and had no fridge. One thing to remember is room are very noisy and you could be awakened in the middle of the night.
The hotel is fairly modern.
Overall a good hotel in east jerusalem.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have been going to the Hashimi since 2006 and we have totally enjoyed our stay every time. All the staff are like family here. This time I was unfortunate to have left my bag at the border and Saleh (one of the managers) along with the owner Aladdin went totally out of their way and located my bag and Saleh went and picked it up for me! I can't say enough for the wonderful people and the superb stay we have here each and every time! Highly recommend the Hashimi hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hashimi Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hashimi Hotel and Hostel

Address: Souq khan El-zeit # 73, Old City | Old City, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hashimi Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Hashimi Hotel and Hostel is located at Old City, Jerusalem, Israel. It offers air-conditioned accommodation rooms, all of which have a cable television, private toilet and bath, telephone, and an Internet connection. Some of its amenities include restaurant and cafe, tours and city trips, room service, and safe deposit boxes. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Church of the Holy Sepulcher, Dome of the Rock, and Via Dolorosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hashimi Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hashimi Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hashimi Hotel and Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.