We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time great hotel great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hashimi Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hashimi Hotel and Hostel to your Saves list
Hashimi Hotel and Hostel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Souq khan El-zeit # 73, Old City | Old City, Jerusalem, Israel (Muslim Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great time great hotel great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Hashimi Hotel and we very happy with the service/ facilities provided by the hotel, the breakfast had a great variety & taste, the view from the bedroom and balcony was amazing, the hotel was very tidy and provided free internet/ tea/ coffee facilities and the staff were all very helpful, just like to mention in particular - 'Salah' was very helpful, giving plenty of advice and always smiling and happy to help, giving a few jokes too :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view showing the city & the doom of the rock- amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    101
    44
    29
    26
See reviews for
64
73
61
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just one word can describe this place: awful.

The location is excellent, in the heart of the old city but that’s about it.

You can hardly get any sleep because of the noises coming from the streets. Don’t be fooled by the pictures they put on their web .The rooms are dirty and I was disgusted to use the bathroom. There was no flat TV in each room as they claim but rather an old TV remembering the early 90s. The bedclothes were filthy.

You need to be married to stay there, which they do not tell you in advance, only once you get to the hotel you can see a huge information sign above the reception. Alcohol is no allowed on the premises.

Staff is not pleasant and not helpful at all. We tried to address the issue of a cleanliness and difficulty with sleep but Management does not care.

I decided for an option without breakfast and I am glad of that choice. I would not touch any food there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Latest being last week. Great location as it is in the heart of the old city. Only a few minutes walk from Al-Aqsa. Very friendly staff. Bathroom is a bit small overall a fantastic place to stay. Price for per night is also very reasonable

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My family of 4, and my dad, spent one night in HaShimi in October and enjoyed our stay. Although, it is by no means a 4 star, or even 3 star, property - it should not be expected with how much you are paying for it. Considering other upscale options in Jerusalem, this one was a great bargain for us.

We got one triple room and thankfully it was on the same level as reception. The room was very basic, but comfortable. It was a little dim for our liking, but again, this isn't a show stopper for us by any means. There was one large bed (made by joining two twins) and one single in the room. The beds were not Marriott comfort level, but after a long day seeing the city, they did just fine.

The bathroom was small, but was clean and functional. Initially, there was no hot water and upon letting the front desk know, we were told that the guy was working on something, and it would be back to normal in about 20 minutes. We gave it 30 and sure enough, there was hot water for all of us.

A few basic things that would be nice to see in the room: a towel rod in the bathroom; there was nothing to hang your stuff on while in the shower. A couple of chairs and a small table to sit on. We decided to eat in at night, and there was nowhere to sit but on the bed. These are minor details, but if addressed, would make it even nicer.

The wifi was free and was pretty fast, enough that we were able to use Skype/Viber for getting in touch with family back home.

The breakfast is nothing to write home about and was pretty barebones - boiled eggs, cereal, some bread, coffee and some salad items. Again, it's enough to fill up on before starting your day, so no complaints. Definitely not worth $5, but a welcome add. The coffee station in the lobby was good for us as we fully made use of it on a couple of occasions. My family are big tea drinkers so having the hot water and tea bags available was a great relief for them.

Now, the best part about the hotel - the rooftop terrace. I cannot say enough about this - this alone is worth the money they charge. The views are unparalleled across the old city, especially if you want an unrestricted view of Aqsa and Damascus gates. Spectacular, and it's open 24hrs. We liked the woodsy setting they've done and it was pleasant to sit and relax at any point of the day - we did it many times :) I was able to get some amazing pictures at sunset, and sunrise. Our tour guide was going to show us some viewing areas, and once he saw the rooftop he said there is none better, just enjoy it here :)

The owners were quite friendly and helpful. They're 2 friends, but I swear they look like twin brothers :) They helped us with some souvenir shops and pointed us to a very nice restaurant late in the evening where most all the shops in the Old City had closed down.

I would stay here if I'm ever back in Jerusalem just for the rooftop terrace!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a well situated Morroccan-style hotel just off the Via Dolorosa.As a single woman travelling alone I felt very safe and well provided for; staff were charming and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and tasty and my room was clean and well-equipped.
There is a wonderful roof terrace with stunning views out over the City as well as a comfortable lobby with Wi-fi and comfortable easy chairs.
Thoroughly recommended for a competitively priced hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of the Old City of Jerusalem, so for those who want a real experience of the old city this is the place to stay. It is also a few minute walk from the Via Dela Rosa street. For muslims is it close enough to Masjid Aqsa that is it easy to go for Fajr prayer. The staff was generally receptive and very friendly whenever we had issues. The roof top view is amazing. Also breakfast in the morning help get you to start your day. If I go back to Jerusalem, I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Five-bed Suite as two are bunkbeds with one queen bed in the same room. Clarifica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Excellent location in the vibrant Muslim Quarter of the Old City in Jerusalem. The staff was exceptionally welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable. We arrived much earlier than check-in (9am ) without warning the hotel and they happily checked us into a room. The rooms are adequate, clean but small. The view from the roof is spectacular!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hashimi Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hashimi Hotel and Hostel

Address: Souq khan El-zeit # 73, Old City | Old City, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Muslim Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hashimi Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Hashimi Hotel and Hostel is located at Old City, Jerusalem, Israel. It offers air-conditioned accommodation rooms, all of which have a cable television, private toilet and bath, telephone, and an Internet connection. Some of its amenities include restaurant and cafe, tours and city trips, room service, and safe deposit boxes. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Church of the Holy Sepulcher, Dome of the Rock, and Via Dolorosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hashimi Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hashimi Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hashimi Hotel and Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.