We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 St. George Street | P.O. Box 280, Jerusalem 91002, Israel (American Colony)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent 1 night in this hotel, rooms are nice but Staff are not, they were not pleasent and they will not give you a late check out.

Wes much surprised about breakfast, this is supposed to be the higher end hotel from the next door Leonardo Hotel, I stayed 2 nights the week before in the Leonardo, and breakfast was on a much higher end in the Leonardo then in the Grand Court. They had a much bigger selection of food, and the Grand Court didn't even have a selection of bread, just 1 kind of roll and 2 kinds of bread, which warent fresh, as opposed to Leonardo which had a huge selection of hot fresh bread and delicious baguets.
Would prefer the Leonardo anytime over the Grand Court.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    206
    134
    60
    45
See reviews for
123
189
35
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very nice hotel with a big lobby and bright spacious rooms. Location wise it is not central but a 15’ walk from the old city. We only stayed there for a night and with the only purpose of visiting the old city so for us it was conveniently located. There is also a tram stop 2’ walking that takes you straight to the old city.
People at the front desk were not very friendly but I reckon they had the same attitude everywhere else in Israel.
There are tea and coffee making facilities (kettle, mugs, spoons) in the room but not coffee or tea (you have to buy downstairs). I found this wired.
Breakfast was alright, a bit too local for my taste but very abundant. Only point was coffee was left in jugs on the tables so it was not hot but we asked for to warm it up and they brought a fresh hot jug.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here while on a pilgrimage to Israel. While the hotel was nice, the rooms were spacious, and had a nice size bathroom, but the hotel was filled with other people who were also on tours. The restaurant, although huge, was loaded with people every night. Be aware...no coffee is served with dinner because of religious beliefs. You had to go to the lounge and pay for coffee. In the morning the tour buses were parked out in front, and there must have been 20 of them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A really huge place that is set up to lodge and feed hundreds. Their stock-in-trade seems to be bus tours. OK for us, we were on a bus. But we would certainly not check in to this hotel if travelling alone: just too big and too assembly-line.

Check-In - was handled smoothly; room keys were ready for a bus tour of about 30 people.

Front desk people were a little snotty responding to query re: Internet.

Location - not great if you want local convenience stores, etc.

Room - quite nice, spacious enough and clean. Bed was good.

Noise - Back of the hotel is noisy from big arterial road (rooms XX24 through XX42).
Had to run the air conditioning because we could not open the window due to noise. Air conditioner drain via bathroom sink made gurgling noises all night.

Bathroom - modern, most functioning. Full bath tub, but plug did not work.

Internet - not very good. Did not work in room. Access in lobby (or down the hall) was OK.

Sign next to kettle in room, to purchase kit of coffee / tea for a high price. What a rip-off!
Fridge
Safe for valuables
TV channels - good selection including several in English.

Breakfast - huge and diverse

Dinner - huge and diverse. Very well presented, food well cooked.

NO decaf' coffee. Very strange for a place this size. Soy milk was a real struggle to get from staff who had "deer in the headlights" reaction to request for soy.
Gluten Free - did not even bother to ask after the hassle to try to get soy and decaf'.

Check-Out - handled well for group.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is noisy from big arterial road (rooms XX24 through XX42).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've stayed here before, but the 4 days I spent there this time were quite disappointing. The hotel is a typical tourist hotel which means the service is lame and the rooms and hallways are pretty drab and worn. The food on my last two visits was fairly good. Not this time! Remind me never to visit Israel again during Holy Week! Kosher is fine, but Passover, beginning almost a week before, is terrible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the 3rd time as a tour group.

This hotel is acceptable for a tour group. It has a good location and the rooms are clean average but dated rooms.

Nothing special but okay.

We have always enjoyed the food but this year it was terrible. We arrived 4 days BEFORE passover started yet they had already started the passover unleaven fare.

Every meal was the leftovers reheated.

Breakfast had no omelets, no pancakes, no toast. These are all items that we have had in the past at this hotel.

Our guide complained to them that they started so early clearing out the leaven and we were stuck with leftovers as they cleared the kitchen.

Very disappointing.

Another complaint was one night it turned cool so the heater went on in every room and you could not control it. IT WAS HOT!

Otherwise it is sufficient and we would stay here again as a group.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel, arriving on a Friday. We had no idea that as guests we could not get anything at all to eat because it was shabbat. We couldn't even get a sandwich to take to the room. Reception's idea of service was to send us to ask the hotel next door (Olive Tree) what to do.Reception at the OT was excellent. Booked out themselves, but booked us into a great local restuarant. All we got from GC was a shoulder shrug. Not very filling. GC Jerusalem didn't have an ATM, sent us to the OT. Laundry was held to ransom. We had to go down to reception to pay for it before we could have it. It came back wet. If you are thinking of booking the Grand Court Jerusalem do yourself a favour and book next door at the Olive Tree. That will save the reception staff at GC sending you there.

Room Tip: Don't book any room at this hoterl, go next door where they DO understand service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Court Hotel

Address: 15 St. George Street | P.O. Box 280, Jerusalem 91002, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Court Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Court Hotel is located in the heart of Jerusalem, walking distance from the Old City and modern city center. The hotel boasts 442 luxurious rooms and suites, which are lavishly furnished and equipped with modern conveniences. Hotel highlights include free Wi-Fi and computer stations, a beautiful outdoor pool, relaxing garden terrace, authentic Israeli breakfast buffet, and lounge bar. The Grand Court also offers banquet facilities and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Grand Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Court Jerusalem
Hotel Grand Court
Grand Court Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.