We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and well-located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Little House in the Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added A Little House in the Colony to your Saves list
A Little House in the Colony
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4a Lloyd George St, Jerusalem, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and well-located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the Little House in the Colony for its location. We've been to Israel many times, and love the German Colony, and Little House is right in the heart of it. This time, we rented a car-- and to our surprise, parking was not impossible in the area around the hotel. For the first two nights, we stayed in the "attic suite"-- spacious, but low ceilings (my husband bumped his head at least 3 times). For the next few days, we moved to the "luxury room" which had a quaint balcony overlooking Lloyd George St. It was clean and adequate. The staff were all friendly and knowledgable. Breakfasts were home-made, and although they were the same every day, they were tasty and wholesome, reminding me of Israeli breakfasts in the days before microwaves. In fact, the entire hotel was reminiscent (in a good way) of Israel 30 years ago-- except that they did have wireless Internet, a computer in the lobby, a personal safe in the room, and the bathrooms were updated. Be aware that there is no elevator-- great for those of us who need the exercise, but not so good if you can't handle a few flights of steps. It's a different experience than the Inbal or the Sheraton, but a much better value, in my mind.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    72
    39
    16
    6
See reviews for
27
66
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I spent four nights in this well located, very charming and not at all pretentious hotel.
The staff was friendly and always available to provide assistance.
The breakfast was included in the price and was filling. Coffee was served for free 24/7.
I found the rooms confortable although somewhat overpriced but, in any case, Jerusalem is well known for the expensive accommodation.
Street light was entering the room during the night and more violently since very early in the morning. So, don't forget to bring your eye shades!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Business took me to Tel Aviv. Three thousand years of history took me to Jerusalem. In TA to testify in a court case, I added a couple more days to the trip for visiting Jerusalem. Without a traveling companion, with no one to impress, I chose Little House for location and value purposes, and recommend the choice to others. In its favor: moderate cost, walking distance to smallish excellent restaurants in German Colony, and proximity to the Old City. Breakfast here didn't compare to the ones served at business hotel in TA, but the price was no where near to those prices either. I'd do the Little House again.

Room Tip: Try dinner at Bagel Café nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The staff was terrific. They directed us to a nearby medical facility when my wife injured her wrist. They were also very helpful in directing us around the city and making other arrangements. The room was large for the price and very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent two nights there - our goal was Jerusalem Festival of Light, and we looked for something colourful, reasonably priced and close to Old City.
Little House is located on quiet side street in bohemian upscale German Colony neighbourhood. First of all, location is great - 15-20 minutes to Jaffa Gate, five minutes to First Station compound, quarter hour to Scherover Promenade... you name it, everything is close.
Hotel itself is clean, rooms are large enough (well, can't vouch for _every_ room - all of them are different; most of them are on second floor but ours was on third - so we had balcony as well).
Breakfast is adequate by Israeli standards - that is, very good by European ones.
Service is fast and friendly.
There's no elevator - so can't recommend it for those who can't climb rather steep steps.
No free parking on hotel's premises - but one can park on nearby Beit Lechem street.
All in all - very good deal for one's money. Definitely it will be our preferred Jerusalem option in future.

Room Tip: There are only 23 rooms in this small hotel. "Economy rooms" downstairs - cheap, but too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We've stayed here a couple of times for a week or two. The rooms are basic but clean and quiet. The bathrooms, tiny and tired. The atmosphere is pleasant. It's great to be in German Colony, and for that the price is very reasonable. It's a homey guest house.
One odd thing: The billing and pricing system is nearly inscrutable, with surcharges for weekends, breakfasts, and extra people, rather than differential rates. And somehow they manage to charge foreigners the 18% tax that only Israelis should pay. The explanation was confusing, but I think they effectively give Israelis a discount of 18%, then charge them the tax. While foreigners pay a rate that is equivalent in its grand total. You cannot recover this tax at the airport. The rate was fine, but the bill was a mess.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drouin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We chose this small Hotel because of its location in the German Colony and its reasonable rates. Obviously I did not expect a 5 star hotel, but i and my wife were very happy during our stay. The rooms were clean and quiet, the beds VERY comfortable, and as it was quite hot during our stay last week, the bar next door provided welcome refreshments at a good price less 10% for hotel guests, I have no reservation recommending "Little House in the Colony". I must also add that the staff were were very, helpful, and deserve a 10/10.Breakfast deserves a special mention, the traditional foods wit plenty of fresh fruit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Little House in the Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in the Colony

Address: 4a Lloyd George St, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in the Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little House In The Colony, B&B hotel, is the smallest hotel in Jerusalem, it has only 22 rooms, and family units, It is fully air conditioned, serves a nice Israeli breakfast on a great garden. It is a real charming corner of green country atmosphere in the heart of Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A Little House in the Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In The Colony Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Little House in the Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.