We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it, great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hezekiah's Tunnels

Hezekiah's Tunnels
Hashiloah Road | City of David, Jerusalem, Israel
+972 2623 1221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 174 Attractions in Jerusalem
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Don't miss it, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

When coming to the water tunnels, you have 2 choices; the Caanite tunnel (which is narrow but dry), and the Hezekiah Tunnel which has flowing water and a storied history.

Our tour group decided to do the dry tunnel, I had to go back the next day for the Hezekiah tunnel. The story goes that 2 teams were digging from opposite ends and met in the middle, to provide a water system for the Jerusalem city.

Who should go, what will you experience?
1. I am 5'7" and the deepest water was to my knees. Most of the time it was high ankle level. Must wear water shoes and bring a flashlight or headlamp. The headlamp worked well for me.
2. I had to stoop over about 1/3 of the way. It may be uncomfortable for a tall person
3. Width - it was narrow, but never to the point where I needed to sideways.
4. The tunnel emptied at the Pool of Siloam

How to return after exiting the tunnel?
Per the suggestion of the security guard, I returned through the Roman Sewer Tunnel. Do not be alarmed, this is a relatively dry tunnel. You need to be able to make many steps up, over rocks and on sand bags. It was narrow and a little stuffy but it was a good experience.

I exited this tunnel at the new excavation site across the street from the City of David

I highly recommend these hikes, if you are okay with walking, narrow spaces, and can do many steps. The history alone makes it a great memory of the trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    77
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
183 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
378 helpful votes 378 helpful votes
“Oooo... Jolly frightening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Background: Also known as Shiloach Tunnel, the 600-metre tunnel was built by King Hezekiah to connect the Gihon Spring outside the City of David to the Shiloach Pool inside the city. Hezekiah's Tunnel was constructed to ensure that a water source flowed into the city, even during times of siege. Today, visitors with torches can walk along the length of this tunnel.

PROS: Access is through the City of David, so it can be made as a short side trip to your visit.

CONS: It is not for the claustrophobic; the entire tunnel has no lights. And there isn't really anything to see down there. Closed on Shabbat.

Tip: The place is dark and dank so it is essential to bring a torch. Also, be aware that you will get your feet wet so, if you don't mind that, then all will be jolly good. Furthermore, if you take the long route, the water can reach waist-level (well, depending on your height.)

Verdict: If this is your "cup of tea," than it is kinda fun. It was for me. But be prepared to get wet. Recommended. Grade B+.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“scary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a very interesting part of our tour but I found the "easier dry tunnel" quite scary so would not have coped with the wet dark one. However many of our party did do it and enjoyed the experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“My choice for Mother's day experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Mother's day 2013 I went underground! Had a great time. My daughter, son-in-law & I agreed it was a blast! My husband is claustrophobic & opted not to come with. Probably a good idea, tight spaces abound.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer, Israel
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A new find for our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Interesting and telling about the construction during Herodes period and about the franc masons and many of the legends surrounding it. In need of a remake (that we understand) will be coming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hezekiah's Tunnels also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hezekiah's Tunnels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hezekiah's Tunnels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.