We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hezekiah's Tunnels

Hezekiah's Tunnels
Hashiloah Road | City of David, Jerusalem, Israel
+972 2623 1221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 179 attractions in Jerusalem
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Abilene, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievably fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Be prepared to wade in water to your thighs. Unforgettable. Takes 45 minutes. Not an easy hike. Lots of stairs you need to be in shape. Be sure and have a flashlight.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    68
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S.W. Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not for those who cannot abide tight places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Amazing opportunity - not easy in places but my Dad managed quite well with some steadying assistance- he was highly motivated.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cademario, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“in the tunnel with a famous archeologist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A faboulous experience thank to the great man who gave us historic information on this extraordinary tunnel - starting at the wall and ending on via dolorosa - unforgettable !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Don't recommend for travelers who have problems walking. At times it was slippery; If you don't have problems walking, it is an incredible experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We got to Jerusalem early before a guided tour and my wife and I did this on our own. I have pretty bad claustrophobia so it took a lot of guts for me to do this. Luckily we never saw or heard any other groups in there and my wife let me go first. It took us about 30min and we walked very quickly through it. The average roof height was about 7 feet. As low as 5 feet and as high as about 25 feet near the end. The water height was just above my knees at the opening and I'm 6'3". Then right after the beginning it was only ankle height for me the rest of the way. My wife says the water was freezing, but I didn't think it was that bad. I'm very glad we did it as the tunnel is so old and mentioned in the Bible.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hezekiah's Tunnels also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hezekiah's Tunnels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hezekiah's Tunnels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hezekiah's Tunnels to your Saves list