We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, exciting, freezing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hezekiah's Tunnels

Hezekiah's Tunnels
Hashiloah Road | City of David, Jerusalem, Israel
+972 2-626-8700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 238 things to do in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come rediscover Biblical Jerusalem! Located just outside the Old City walls, the City of David is in fact the historical Old City of Jerusalem, containing archeological remnants going back 4,000 years. Come see for yourself where it all began...
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“beautiful, exciting, freezing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a mistake we made- to traipse through the ice-cold underground spring in November. I'll have to redo it on a summertime trip to Israel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    93
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unique Experience, not for Everybody”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The tunnel is part of the tour of the City of David, just a few minutes walk from the Western Wall. The guide we had was very knowledgeable, the tour very detailed (which is great for me, not so much for my four year old). The tunnel walk was the last part of the tour. If you are claustrofobic, don´t go. It is not that short, it is dark and there is some water. It was all well worth it for me, very unique experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“finally got to do the tunnels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

very interesting morning. lots of people waiting to go in, so be sure to book. the tour takes about 1.5 hours. definately a "must do"

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not miss this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Almost did not do this. So glad we did! Pitch black, thank heavens we had our little flashlights. Water about a foot or two deep. Tunnel is about 2 feet wide and 5 to 6 feet high. Took about 30 minutes to get through. Amazes me that this was all dug by hand.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Alternate routes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When I visited there was a crowd of Russian young people who had to be told not to smoke. They were going down to the usual water route. But if you go down and down until just before the actual tunnel with the water bear left and go along the Canaanite tunnel for a dry experience! When you get out go down to the Siloam Pool (a guard can suggest the routes). From the pool I recommend going to the left of where the Hezekiah Tunnel exits and going up another dry tunnel 400 metres until almost the Dung Gate where you can exit. Nobody else was walking those routes. Great for those who don’t want to mess with cold water.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hezekiah's Tunnels also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hezekiah's Tunnels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hezekiah's Tunnels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.