We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Christmas Hotel

Christmas Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Christmas Hotel
Save
You added Christmas Hotel to your Saves list
1 Ali Ibn Abi Taleb St, Jerusalem, Israel (American Colony)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Lydbrook, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a package tour. It was perfectly comfortable and the rooms were quiet, but the decor was very dated. The food was plentiful and there was a good choice, with a buffet for both evening meals and breakfast, and had a middle eastern flavour without being too spicy. The staff were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a package so can't comment on their prices. The rooms were perfectly acceptable (although there were no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. There's a fridge though so it could be worth bringing a travel kettle as a small cup of tea in the hotel was 10 shekels - nearly £2). The staff were friendly and very helpful, even providing me with an oil filled radiator so I could get some clothes dry. The food was fine. There was always adequate choice and plenty of fresh fruit. It was maybe a bit repetitive but I had no problem with that - there was lots of choice so absolutely no need to have the same every day, even for breakfast. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinterzarten
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I only stayed for lunch, but was completely overwhelmed by the friendliness in this house, although I cannot say that for all Jerusalem. The food was very good, the service excellent, the prices reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel to be close to our family for a wedding in the Old City. The location enabled us to venture out on foot to the Old City as well as be central in Jerusalem. There is so much history and so many cultural sites that one hardly spends any time in their hotel in this town. We were on the go for our entire stay. The hotel staff were polite and courteous. The restaurant was family friendly as we had a gathering there. The food was good too. It is simply a reasonably priced hotel that enables one to be close to the Old City.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Rooms are small & modest. No frills. every day the same lunch and dinner, meal low quality.
The roooms are clean, but sheets were covered with old stains.
I suggest this hotel only for few days stay and only for sleeping; may be better to eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Room clean, large, comfortable and quiet.

Service good, people kind. Restaurant very good for breakfast and dinner.

Only 15 minutes walking to Damascus Gate, is perfect to visit the old city.

I will go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

As a small family group, this was a really good place to stay. We had a driver available for long journeys but wanted to be able to walk to the Old City and it is very well placed for that. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the Damascus Gate - walk down the hill to the first gate, turn right and Damascus Gate is just round the corner. It's easier to follow maps from there.

The Garden Tomb is minutes away on foot and the Rockefeller Museum, definitely worth a visit, is 10 minutes. St George's Cathedral is also just over the road - there is a list of services by the door (and on the website) and many are in English if that suits you.

A previous poster was concerned about their safety - we did not experience that. Clearly, Jerusalem has different neighbourhoods both within and outside the Old City. The locals would have noticed we were European(ish) had they been bothered to look - but they were going about their business and weren't interested. There were calls to prayer whilst we were going to and from - we never felt at all unsafe. Things ebb and flow in the region so it makes sense to be aware of what's going on.

As for the hotel: the rooms were clean and comfortable and we slept well . No noise, no early morning call to prayer interruptions. Our fellow guests were mostly pilgrim groups from various parts of the world. People from the region also stay there - a good sign - in small family groups like ours. We could not have been made more welcome - the buffet one night was fish only, to suit the group, and our table was brought individual plates to ensure we had a meat choice. One morning, we had a 6:30 start and breakfast was served early for us. If we wanted anything, it appeared almost at once. (By the way, the local brew of Taybeh was excellent).

We would recommend taking your own toiletries and face cloths and found our spare sink plug came in handy - an old hand told us to always take one in the region and how right they were!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christmas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Hotel

Address: 1 Ali Ibn Abi Taleb St, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 38

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christmas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.