We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly nice!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Hotel Jerusalem

Save Saved
You added National Hotel Jerusalem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
National Hotel Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Zahra Street 4 | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 972000, Israel (Down Town East Jeruslaem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazingly nice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel was a great choice: I've never been welcomed and taken care of so friendly than here. Nirvana from the reception is an angel :), she takes care of anything! At my arrival, a big fresh fruit basket plus a bottle of water were waiting in my room. The rooms are beautiful, very clean, and air conditioned. At the top of the hotel is an excellent restaurant, and the hotel manager greets his guests personally. All in all amazingly nice atmosphere, very helpful staff, and not crowded by anonymous tourist masses!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    101
    35
    8
    15
See reviews for
55
81
43
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We only had one night in Jerusalem, and were really pleased to have chosen (at the last minute) the National. As others have written, the reception desk staff at the hotel are superb, but I'd also like to praise the restaurant for its food and service.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I could have never imagined that such great customer service existed!Nirvana will never know how much I appreciate her and the rest of the hotel assoicates!From the hotel staff knowledge to the immaculate clean rooms and excellent free breakfast,and excellent room service. I don't think I can say enough!The perfect location for a true old city experience, conveniently located next to the Jaffa and Damascus gates.The owner is very personable and friendly which is very rare with such a great property.I have already started preparation for my next trip and I can't wait to visit the National Hotel again I've already raved to friends,family,and strangers about this wonderful hotel experience!I can't express enough graititude to the wonderful staff for all their help and knowledge!

Room Tip: The staff is very honest and personable just be vocal about your needs and they will accomodate full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I can't put into words the friendliness of the manager and staff of this hotel. I arrived over heated and stressed out and they quickly got me a glass of ice water, took my bags to my room, and then later sent a fruit basket and large bottle of water to my room "on the house." During my four-day stay, the girl at the desk learned my name and talked to me each day. Everyone was very polite and helpful. What a great place to stay, especially for a female traveling alone. I highly recommend the National Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We booked the National Hotel on our own without recommendations and were pleasantly surprised the minute we walked in the door. We were greeted by Nirvana, who could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Sammy helped with our bags and brought us complimentary fresh fruit. Our room was clean, spacious, light, and quiet. The included breakfast in the restaurant with a view was very nice. We can also recommend the hotels' restaurant for dinner. The short walk to Damascus gate through the Arab quarter is safe and interesting. We had just finished a 10 nt. cruise and felt just as pampered at this hotel. We would definitely book the National Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

at this beautiful new hotel. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. We only stayed for the one night but will definately return on our next visit to Jerusalem. After 2 traumatic weeks in the West Bank this was a huge treat. The room was spotlessly clean, superb huge white towels, loads of shampoo etc and pillows to die for. The breakfast room allowed a beautiful panoramic view of the city and the breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Hospitality just as expected, warm and inviting.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Pros
The hotel restaurant was good food and a decent price. We paid around $35 dollars for both of us.
The General Manager was a really good guy and tried his best to take care of us
The location was within walking distance from the Damascus Gate
The staff tried really hard to assist us in every way
The rooms were nice and clean.

Cons
I wouldn't take my wife here again. They say it is a 4 star hotel but I would put it at more like a 2 or 3.
First off we paid $185 a night for two nights. For this hotel I think this is too much.
We like quieter areas. The area of this hotel is quite loud and busy.
Walking from Damascus gate to the hotel is not 5 min it is at least 10-15 (picky but it's the truth)
The staff was very nice but seemed to be unprofessional. It was like the hotel manager recruited his nieces and nephews to come and help out. Some couldn't speak English very well which was frustrating. Most of them were just dressed in normal street clothes which was kind of annoying and not very professional.
The internet is wireless here and did not work in my room I had to go to the lobby to get it to work.
I don't like when the wireless internet is not secured as it was at this hotel. I had the "IT Guy" come see why my internet was not working and he said it is you just have to connect to something called default which was not secured. I thought that was a little shaddy.
My wife likes to take a bath sometimes at night and she couldn't because as the hotel told us they didn't have drain plugs because guests had misused them. I told them we wouldn't misuse them so could we just have one and we were told they got rid of all of them. Again, I thought that was kind of shaddy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to National Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Jerusalem

Address: Al Zahra Street 4 | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem 972000, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jeruslaem
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your National Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Hotel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.