We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass on it unless you want to pass time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramparts Walk

Ramparts Walk
Jaffa Gate | Old City, Jerusalem, Israel
02-6277550
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 174 Attractions in Jerusalem
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Attraction details
NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pass on it unless you want to pass time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I would recommend the ramparts walk under three conditions: 1) It is a cool Jerusalem evening; 2) You have seen all else there is to see; 3) The walk is free. Unfortunately, none of these is true - the ramparts walk closes around 5 PM; you will probably not run out of things to see in Jerusalem in 1-2 weeks; and not only is the ramparts walk not free, you do not get to see anything new from the ramparts that you will not have already seen from the Tower of David or the bell tower of the Church of the Redeemer. Finally, ramaparts walk is not for the acrophobic.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    22
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Ga
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding views of Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Ramparts Walk provides views of Jerusalem that you won’t see anywhere else. In the interest of time we opted to do a 'self guided' Ramparts Walk so we could stop and take photographs whenever we wanted. If this is your only trip to Jerusalem, I would recommend having a guide to explain what you are seeing and share facts about the history. Just so you know, some of the steps are very steep and the walkways are narrow but it is totally worth it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful early morning walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A memorable walk with intimate views of the old city and the new city outside the wall. It was beautiful in the early morning when the sun was not too hot, the nuns were putting out their laundry, the children were playing in school, shops opening up. Not for the acrophobic. Beware that the stones on the ramparts are well trodden which makes them slippery, and they are uneven as well making them a bit difficult to navigate even in sturdy sandals, but the handrails are helpful. I didn't expect to be the only one up there, but it is inaccessible unless you have a ticket. Jaffa Gate to Damascus Gate is a manageable walk for the reasonably fit middle-aged traveler.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great vantage point, watch your footing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Lots of stairs up & down plus uneven footing, but if you don't mind that it's a terrific vantage point to view this ancient & wonderful city. Note: If you leave the ramparts near one of the gates, you can't get back in.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Old City views from the Southern Ramparts Walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We walked the southern, shorter walk. We entered at Jaffa Gate where we purchased our tickets (8 NIS for seniors). The walk often included stairs going up and then down and then back up etc. There were handrails and it felt perfectly safe. The only other people on the ramparts were a family with small children and a security person walking his rounds (We were there on Shabbat). The walk took about 40 minutes. The views outside the old city (the new city) were great. We were disappointed in the views inside the old city. Other than the Police Station and a few storefronts in the Armenian Quarter there wasn't much to see from the ramparts into the old city. Although it was good exercise and good for the new city views, our time good probably have been better spent walking around inside the old city.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramparts Walk also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Ramparts Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramparts Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.