We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay in Jerusalem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaplan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kaplan Hotel to your Saves list
Kaplan Hotel
1 Havatzelet St, Jerusalem 94224, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Jerusalem
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect place to stay in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you want to spend your tourist money on touring, instead of on your hotel, this is the place to stay. It is in the perfect location, in the middle of the pedestrian boulevard, two buildings off Jaffa Street and Ben Yehuda. The host, Eli Wasserman, is just incredibly helpful. The room is simple and clean, with a fridge, a nice private bathroom, and excellent access to a kitchen. Eli and Nathan helped us sort through possible tours and how to get taxis, rental cars (even on Shabbat) and other logistics. Eli even offered to pay my parking ticket from his home computer and just add it to the bill when I couldn't figure out how to do it from my ipad. The perfect place to stay if you want simple, convenient accommodations in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: This hotel is right on Zion Square in Jaffa Street. If you are a really light sleeper, you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oslo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First off, I have to join the other reviewers in their praise of Eli as a wonderful host - I arrived extremely early in the morning, but he greeted me with a smile, gave me the room keys and a bottle of water, told me to get some sleep and come back when I was ready to check in. Later, he would also provide me with a chamsa necklace, as my visit coincided with a turbulent period with air sirens even in Jerusalem (November 2012).

The Kaplan is nicely located in the middle of everything, and it is easy to get to the various sights and events in the city - either by foot, tram or taxi. And should you need any advice on where to go or how to get there, Eli will be at your service! Due to nearby construction work during my stay, I learnt that its central location is both a gift and a curse, as they would begin working very early.

The room was average and nothing more - as expected from a hotel this price range. The bathroom was very small, but everything worked as it should. Unfortunately, my experience was somewhat marred by stepping barefoot on a cockroach on my last day, pushing my overall impression from a "Very good" to an "Average" one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyZoidberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here with my brother in July. I wasn't too familiar with the area but the owner of the hotel gave me booklets and recommendations of fun things to do in the surrounding area. Very friendly and pleasant owner, extremely accommodating, best location near plenty of restaurants, bars, and shops. Clean rooms with wifi and TV. Bang for your buck!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A hotel not only at the heart of the city but that provides service with a heart making it a real home away from home, Eli and Nathan the owners are incredibly kind and helpful (and funny!) and go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that you have everything you need during your stay. They really know how to put a smile on your face.

It is a rare thing to come across hotel owners with such humanity, who are so passionate about providing a good service, whom would give you the shirt off their backs if you needed it! I was offered food more than once when returning late after a long day taking care of a sick relative and even received a thoughtful gifts in my room of fresh flowers and platters of fruit which were a real delight and godsend, again testament to how incredibly thoughtful Eli and Nathan are.

On a practical note the rooms are clean and tidy and well equipped, showers hot and as well as being in a tremendous location and having all mod cons there is a real sense of being amongst friends and feeling incredibly safe and all of this for a very reasonable price. It is uncanny as the Kaplan is right at the centre with everything a stones throw away, yet magically feels like home. I am a repeat visitor and I have met many others from all over the world and all walks of life that return again and again. The Kaplan is truly a little gem in Jerusalem and it’s owners beautiful souls. Staying here can really enhance the enjoyment of visiting the Holy Land and leave you with a positive lasting memory.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MashaMasha0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Kaplan is a nice base for exploring Jerusalem. So close to the old city and surrounded by great restaurants and bars.

Eli gave some advice but also flexibility to choose our own favorites. He was always waiting up for us to debrief our days and catch up on our news in a funny way !!

Two downsides: room was very noisy all night on thurs and some of sat night. Earplugs needed. Second, the bed linen was for two singles rather than a double to match the bed.

Anyway, overall a good find and we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie2lock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

One of the highlights of our trip was having the pleasure to meet Eli, the owner. He was SO warm and hospitable. The location was perfect for us. I am extremely sensitive to outside noise, so Eli put me in a back room with a fan and earplugs, and it worked out just fine. The fruit plate was an added bonus. I highly recommend Hotel Kaplan. It also is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melaniecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

To immediately judge the Kaplan on appearances would be a huge mistake... I only posted the photos to give other readers an image of the exterior entrance and basic standard of the rooms.

I can only heap praise on this friendly and welcoming gem of a budget hotel. If you want to stay within immediate walking distance to almost every major attraction in Jerusalem without paying a fortune, this is your place. 1 minute walk from Ben Yahuda street on Zion Square; easy 10 minute walk to the Jaffa Gate. If can't handle 'hostel-style' backpacking and only stay in 4-5* hotels with cocktail bars and swimming pools, then this is not your place.

The owner Eli goes out of his way to make you feel comfortable in such humble and fun surroundings. He made sure we knew that the fruit left in the room was free of charge and that we were introduced to the other guests and his cute little dog. Very safe and feels like a family home in the middle of the city centre.

Highly recommended experience. I would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
City Center Jerusalem
#15 of 95 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Arthur Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shamai Suites
#14 of 95 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#28 of 95 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Down Town West Jerusalem
Harmony Hotel Jerusalem - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaplan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaplan Hotel

Address: 1 Havatzelet St, Jerusalem 94224, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaplan Hotel is the best choice for low-budget travelers. Located right in the center of Jerusalem on Jaffa street, just off Ben-Yehuda st., right across Zion square, and near the new train station. Its location is ideal for shopping, grabbing a bite to eat or having a coffee. It's a 10 minute walk to the old city, to mahane yehuda market, and most central tourist attractions. All our rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free cable TV, and free Wi-Fi. Guests are welcome to use the hotel's kitchen, as well as have a free cup of tea or coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kaplan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaplan Hotel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing