We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden delight near First Station and Emek Refaim” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Touro

Touro
S.U Nachon St | Mishkenot Sha'ananim, Jerusalem, Israel
25702189
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 468 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Skokie, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden delight near First Station and Emek Refaim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

By taking the path across from the Begin Museum, going down across from the Cinemateque, you'll come to Touro in Mishkanot Shannanim,a wonderful restaurant overlooking the Old City, with indoor and outdoor seating. I was delighted to find the prices exactly the same as at the areas listed above, but with service well above anywhere else. I shared the endive salad, fabulous and enough for 2, and a Morrocan fish dish perfectly seasoned. We were able to taste wines before ordering, there were linen napkins, and the waiter asked if we were ready for the chef to start the fish when we were close to finishing the salad. All this in a quiet elegant setting, for the same price as the busy, crowded areas, and no more than a 10-15 minute walk away. From there it's a short walk to the wonderful Teddy Fountain to catch the water show with music from the Israel Philharmonic, but that's another review!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    16
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Touro is a very special place. The restaurant is located in a lovely building across from the Old City. The menu is varied and everything we tasted (there were four of us) was delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming venue in an historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This new restaurant has both a terrific menu and great atmosphere. The service was attentive and the menu offered numerous creative choices. We all had different dishes and agreed that they were all delicious. The restaurant is a bit hard to find. Be sure to call first to get directions. Easiest approach is to come from the Montefiore Windmill parking lot and walk down the stone steps.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ah-may-zing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Took friends who had never been to Israel, and we all loved it. One of our party even went back a few days later, because she loved it so much. The food, the view, the whole thing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

One of the best meals I ever had in Israel, i(and I've been a lot)and in an absolutely beautiful rooftop location. Really a lovely dining experience. Often a choice between the food or the view/ambience, here you had both, If weather permitting, and you have the choice to eat outside on the rooftop patio, then do so. For kosher restaurant, really top notch and can't say enough

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Touro also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Touro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Touro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.