We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamai Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shamai Suites to your Saves list
Shamai Suites
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   15 Ben Hillel St., Jerusalem 9423117, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

On our recent family trip to Jerusalem, my husband and I stayed in a studio and our son, daughter-in-law and children stayed in a 2 bed apartment all at Shamai Suites. The position was perfect, easy walking distance to the Old City and surrounded by open malls of shops and cafes - and the light rail is 2 minutes away which took us direct to Machaneh Yehuda, the main market. The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable with a fresh and bright interior design. Our beds were full twin beds pushed together and were extremely comfortable The staff were friendly and helpful - and all this at a very reasonable price! We couldn't believe out luck at having found such a great place via the Internet. We will definitely return there and you had better book soon as we are telling all our friends in Melbourne about it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    45
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
50
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We are on our final night of 5 spent here and we have enjoyed our stay very much. Excellent pressure in the shower and very comfortable beds. Its quite new in fact the room next door is still being decorated. There is a jug with tea coffee provided but no toaster. There is a fridge and spa bath, safe and fantastic air conditioning. The area is supurb everything at your finger tips. Free wifi a welcome nessitity these days. Its quite like apartment living which suits us. We caught the neshar from the airport and were dropped nearby. Yes you can see rubbish on the McDonalds rooftop but thats not Shamais fault. We would most definately stay here again very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Shamai Suites which we choose because of it's proximity to Ben Yehouda Street (ca. 50m). We first received à small studio but after a few minutes, they called us from the reception telling us that there was a bigger studio available on one of the upper floors and that we could have it at no extra charge ! So we moved to this studio where we had a nice terrace, a complete kitchen and a nice bath room with jacuzzi. When we left, they also kept our luggage till the end of the day which was very useful, so we could use the rest of the day for visits.
Location is perfect, not far from Shuk Hacarmel and 10 to 15 minutes walk to the Old City.
We would certainly advice the Shamai Suites to friends and will surely go back next time in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

if you're going to spend your money and visit the Holy Land, get a nice hotel. This place is clean but there is no lobby, the bathroom is bare, there are no amenities. I chose not to go on a 1/2 tour one day and so I was here when the "cleaning" staff arrived. we are staying in a one-bedroom unit; it took them literally 4 minutes to clean our "suite". they do nothing! don't expect a change of bedsheets, be ready to beg for one washcloth. towels are mismatched and the draperies are stained. we didn't choose this dump. friends of our did. I sleep every night fully clothed, including a hooded sweatshirt, as I don't want any part of my body touching the bedding. and if you like used, stained plastic hangers you are in for a treat. the "closet" has 5 of them. I would equate this place to the lowest Motel 6. Actually, a Motel 6 is probably like the Plaza compared to this dump. My advice? Save longer for your trip to the Holy Land and invest in a lovely hotel room. There are plenty here. One more thing, if you get a "suite" on an upper floor, your view will be looking at garbage dumped on the roof. Yes, it really is that bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed in the Shamai Suites for four nights during a recent visit to Jerusalem. The room was more a small studio apartment than hotel room. For a hotel room room, it was quite large, very ample for my grown son and me, and had basic kitchen facilities (no stove), a long balcony, and loads of light. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. The location is fantastic: just off Ben Yehuda Street, a fun shopping area, close to the light rail and a pleasant ten minute walk to the Old City. Be aware that this is not anything like a luxury accommodation -- there is no lobby, the furnishings are basic (though new) and the bathroom, while certainly adequate, is not a high point. The wifi was weak to nonexistent. But by Jerusalem standards based on my research, it is a strong value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

this hotel is very good value for money.there is large windows and the room is very clear.it is very near Ben Yehuda street and about 3 kms of the Kotel.the beds are good and the bathroom is beautiful.
When I will go again to Jerusalem I will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Amazing location and very spacious and comfortable room. I will definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers! If I go back to Jerusalem, this is where I will be staying. Thank you so much for participating with booking.com since I would not have otherwise found this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shamai Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamai Suites

Address: 15 Ben Hillel St., Jerusalem 9423117, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamai Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Shamai Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamai Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.