We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number one Whiskey bar in Jerusalem!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Whisk(e)y Bar

Glen Whisk(e)y Bar
18 Shlomtzion st | Near Mamila, Jerusalem, Israel
+972 54-901-0076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 465 restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A proper English bar, very close to the old city with 17 taps of extraordinary beers from Israel and all other the world, the bar has its' own beer on tap!. It's a whisk(e)y bar with over 100 types of single malt whiskies from all over the world. It's a small bar where you can meet locals from Jerusalem and students from all over Israel. Open hours are since 20:00 every day till last customer. It plays mostly rock music. Sometimes hosts a live bands and has simple but good food.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Number one Whiskey bar in Jerusalem!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Honestly, probably the best bar in jerusalem. Went in there for a drink while waiting for a friend, the week Glen opened and havent left there since. Its about the only bar i go to anymore.

Owner and staff are amazing, like a second family to their customers, services is great, quick, and friendly. Prices are great. Music is awesome. The variety of whiskey and beers are countless.


If you are looking for a great night with friends, your loved one, parties, or even alone, this is the bar to go to. If you dont believe me or any other posts, then go check it out yourself and LIVE THE GLEN!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The only pub in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've been going to the Glen now every week for around three years.

The selection of alcohol available is simply unsurpassed by any other pub in Jerusalem. There're 17 beers on tap not to mention an extensive collection of bottled beers, close to 100 different whiskies to choose from, mainly Scottish single malts but also a few blends and American whiskeys as well as some more unusual choices. Of course there is also a wide range of other drinks available, for those who like cocktails they will happily customise one to your tastes.

You also cannot fault the quality of service, it's friendly, fast and efficient. The staff are all highly trained and can easily provide you with in-depth descriptions of all the drinks on offer. Give them a quick description of your tastes and they'll happily recommend you new drinks to try (and in my experience invariably get it right).

If you're looking for a place to sit, chat and have a few (or many) drinks then this is the only place to go in Jerusalem. The atmosphere is always lively, the music not too loud, the pub is full of people who are passionate about drinks and will happily sit and have a chat with you about almost anything under the sun.

Don't miss out on this place when visiting Jerusalem, it'll be welcome break from walking round site seeing in the heat!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Bar in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Glen Bar is like a second home to me - Glen is located in Jerusalem (ISRAEL) - 2 minute walk from the Western Wall and the Old City of Jerusalem and the atmosphere there is always warm and inviting. Leon, the owner of the Glen Bar has extensive knowledge in all types of whiskey and beer. Conversation with him about alcohol and beverages will interest even those who does not drink often.

The Bar is small and intimate and has less than one hundred seats, so you will always get personal attention from the bartenders who work there.

This is defenantly the first Bar i'm going to reccomand any turist and friends who'll come to visit Israel.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maale Adumim
1 review
“One of the best Whisky and Beer pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

More then 100 single malts, local and foreign beers. every time i go there i enjoy a different beer to the sounds of Jimi Hendrix and other rock giants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glen, my place in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I live in Tel Aviv, but I love bar crawls in Jerusalem. Unlike TA, J'm has its better establishments concentrated in a small area, so one can move easily from a place to a place regardless of how low is the blood level in his or her alcohol. During the last year, since I've discovered Glen, it is an obligatrory station in my crawls. My only problem with it is that it's too good, so for a couple of times the crawl started and ended there. Why move anywhere if you know that no place is better than where you are? (or maybe I'm just getting old?)

Glen is a bar, not a pub (i.e., almost no food is served). And a bar it is. More than 100 single malt whiskeys, a wide choice of tequilas and other alcohol types, about 15 beers on tap - and not your standard choice of tuborg-carlsberg-goldstar, but the best stuff available on the market: local microbrewries, Belgian ales, etc. I'm not into cocktails, but they say they are good too. The owner of the place is a whiskey and beer aficionado, so sometimes he brews his own beers and once I've witnessed him distilling his own whiskey, happy as a clam.

I love the type of people I meet in the bar (actually, this is the real reason I love drinking in J'm so much). Mostly young, but not kids, many students, but not only, a mixture of characters you can find only in this crazy city. The atmosphere is nice and it's easy to start a conversation with thy neighbor if you are into it. The music is always fine and hand-picked, not too loud, and many a time cartoon movies are projected on the bar wall, making the scene a bit grotesque.

In short, if you appreciate highly professional whiskey bars where you come to drink and talk, surrounded by like-minded clientelle - the Glen is the place for you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Whisk(e)y Bar also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District

Been to Glen Whisk(e)y Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Whisk(e)y Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.