We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this place and the adjacent Garden Tomb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skull Hill (Golgotha)

Skull Hill (Golgotha)
Jerusalem, Israel (Givat Ram)
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 238 things to do in Jerusalem
Attraction details
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place and the adjacent Garden Tomb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just a short walk from the Damascus Gate, there is a bus station and the hill that some people believe is "Golgotha" - where Jesus was crucified. The adjacent Garden Tomb is one of the most peaceful religious sites in or near Jerusalem. At the Garden Tomb entrance, I recommend accepting the offer of a free guided tour. Let them know how much time you have, and then relax and ponder the possibility that this might be where Jesus was crucified, entombed, and resurrected.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were volunteers here for 2 months - such an amazing place! Hearing hymns being sung in so many different languages and meeting people from all over the world was such a brilliant experience. The one thing that kept being commented on by visitors was the fact that it is such a simple place after all the ornate icons of the various churches in Jerusalem. The peace and quietness touched people in profound ways and it was easy to believe that this garden hadn't been much different in the time of Christ.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Reality Check”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited the Garden a Tomb and Skull Hill. The visit was a bit rushed as we were late and the shock of sitting looking at what some people think was Golgotha left one unsure and perplexed. There is a bus stop in front of it and a cemetery on top. Whether or not it is the actual place where Christ was crucified does not matter. We had a special quite time at one of the pause areas and really felt the presence of God.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“History means his story !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I took people over there to visit the sight because I am a guide and when we enter to the garden tomb we get a guide to show us the sight . It is a nice area but we leave it to people to decide if they believe what they see !!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“I believe this is the Golgotha (skull) hill where Jesus was placed on the cross, it's outside Garden tomb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Go to the Garden tomb and you will see this skull hill outside the Garden tomb. It's a bus stop now but u can see in old pictures and even today, the hill looks like a skull! Different people argue both I believe this is the correct location where Christ was placed on the cross. Decide for yourselves the truth .. Go to this location and see it for yourselves.I believe that this is a must see location for Christians!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skull Hill (Golgotha) also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Skull Hill (Golgotha)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skull Hill (Golgotha), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.