We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jerusalem Hotel to your Saves list
Jerusalem Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nablus Road | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel (Down Town East Jerusalem)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were recomended this hotel by colleagues at Brizeit University, Ramallah. It is run by Christian Palestinians and was pretty much rebuilt after the Israeli occupation of East Jerusalem in 1967. It is well situated for bus stations to other locations in Palestine, for the Old City and for East Jerusalem in general. Staff were pleasant though some were a bit distant. The building stays cool and has wonderful antique furniture in rooms and hallways. Some things are lacking - no drinking water is supplied in the rooms, for example. The restaurant is good for breakfast, and OK if rather pricey for evening meal, but it's garden location under a vine and the frequent live music make it worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front above the restaurant can get very noisy, especially Friday evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
44
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent location nearby bus stations for East Jerusalem and Damascus Gate to Old City.
A gasp when entering the room. Lovely handmade Palestinian embroidery on beds, a simply beautiful room on first floor. Clean. The restaurant is a meeting place and Palestinian. If you want something origin, go there. Good value

Room Tip: I had a room by the restaurant, but was not bothered. I usually am, but by nightfall it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at this beautiful hotel with my parents for 3 nights during our tour of Jerusalem and Jordan. I chose this hotel because it was Palestinian ran. The rooms are beautifully furnished with antique furnishings and bedding covers which makes you feel transported back in time every time you enter into your room. This said, the room had clean and modern bathrooms however the plumbing is a little temperamental and one morning we couldn't get hot water at all - the staff tried their best but think it needed professional attention. To be honest we loved Jerusalem so much that we were not really bothered by the small inconvenience. The staff were all polite and friendly and the breakfast in the mornings was good. The best thing about this hotel was 1) its closeness to the Old City of Jerusalem - The Damascus gates was within walking distance - 3 minute walk. 2)The terrace restaurant for evening meals. The burgers are divine. Its hard to find somewhere to eat in the old city late at night and the hotel restaurant was a great place to hang out. The hotel and restaurant is popular with journalists and aid agency workers so you find interesting conversation
3)Its Palestinian ran and owned with a mixture of Christian and Muslim Palestinians working in the hotel.
4) Its beautiful and unique.

Room Tip: Note of Advise: Use the hotel to book your tours and contact them to help you find taxis etc they ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and wished we stayed longer . The hotel is styled in an original Palestinian way and feels like home. Clean room and bathroom. The high cielings And stone walls keep the room cool even in hot days like the day we stayed there. The restaurant is located outside under wine trees and the food is good. Friendly staff and always willing to help , give advise and arrange taxis at good prices. Once we arrived , before check in time there was no problem and we received the keys and offered a welcome drink .
The location is perfect, 3 to 5 minute walk to the Damascus port and just across the street from a bus station.
Will be going there again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Jerusalem Hotel, run by a Palestinian family, is right by the Damascus Gate into the old city of Jerusalem. Rooms are interestingly furnished with individual pieces and beautifully cool. The terrace restaurant is a bonus and well worth eating in. Try the Palestinian mezza - delicious and good value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have A/C - ask if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked two double rooms for one night in April. Our rooms weren't quite ready but we were offered a welcome drink in the very pleasant restaurant. The rooms were delightful. Large with high ceilings, stone walls, antique furnishings and modern bathrooms. We ate lunch and dinner in the restaurant and were very happy with the food and service. Breakfast was a lovely buffet. We had rooms on the ground floor but didn't hear any noise from the restaurant or bus station. It is roughly 5 minutes walk to the Damascus Gate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Located close to the Damascus gate Jerusalem Hotel is a good choice for those who's visiting the Old city. The rooms are not the regular but with a high ceilings and stone walls. The restaurant was pretty nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Address: Nablus Road | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerusalem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel situated in an old Arab mansion located only a few meters from the Garden Tomb and The Damascus Gate and within a short walking distance to major historical and cultural sites.Originally built by a feudal lord in the heart of the ancient city of Jerusalem, the Jerusalem hotel has been carefully renovated.Accentuate its 19th century Arab character and refurbished with Arabesque furniture.This distinct architecture is evident in the arched windows.High ceilings, cool stone flagging and secluded vine garden.The thick stone walls, cut from unique creamy Jerusalem stone,Have been exposed and pointed with a traditional Arabic plaster.Rooms are timelessly decorated with antiques inspiring a Middle Eastern oriental milieu.Each of our 14 rooms is custom-furnished, air conditioned and provides a state of the art, fast internet connection, network facilities, wireless internet, two direct dial, separate phone lines, and a Yes cable receiver for guests comfort viewing.Once upon a time a gentle women and men but are start our speech and pleasantries reach, we must offer greetings!and peace!Shall we tell tales tonight .or sleep?we'll tell tales ...once upon a time the storytellers tells such quenching grapes fell upon a place, named KAN ZAMANwhere doors open wide where nerves do unwind where friends and dear ones and visitor who loved once from every neighborhood and home do stay...Enjoying the charms of nights, and joys of the day...The two eating places, the airy 'VINE' garden-patio restaurant and the authentic Diwan (indoor) offer a rich variety of Mediterranean dishes as a full meal or as a snack at reasonable prices. Live Arabic music is organized weekly. The Diwan is ideal for parties accommodating up to forty guests.Whatever the reason for you to visit Jerusalem, our hotel offers the relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerusalem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.