We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliantly located Jerusalem hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jerusalem Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jerusalem Hotel to your Saves list
Jerusalem Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nablus Road | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel (Down Town East Jerusalem)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $18 on select meals
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliantly located Jerusalem hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Jerusalem Hotel, run by a Palestinian family, is right by the Damascus Gate into the old city of Jerusalem. Rooms are interestingly furnished with individual pieces and beautifully cool. The terrace restaurant is a bonus and well worth eating in. Try the Palestinian mezza - delicious and good value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have A/C - ask if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
46
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked two double rooms for one night in April. Our rooms weren't quite ready but we were offered a welcome drink in the very pleasant restaurant. The rooms were delightful. Large with high ceilings, stone walls, antique furnishings and modern bathrooms. We ate lunch and dinner in the restaurant and were very happy with the food and service. Breakfast was a lovely buffet. We had rooms on the ground floor but didn't hear any noise from the restaurant or bus station. It is roughly 5 minutes walk to the Damascus Gate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Located close to the Damascus gate Jerusalem Hotel is a good choice for those who's visiting the Old city. The rooms are not the regular but with a high ceilings and stone walls. The restaurant was pretty nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my first time staying in East Jerusalem. Location is good - close to the Damascus Gate and to the new tram. Rooms are spacious with some character, though the bathrooms are tiny. The front of the hotel looks out over a bus station, so in the evening there is relentless honking. It quieted down as the night went on, and was quite in the morning, though that could be because it was Friday. Wireless is free, which is more than I can say for the chain hotels I stayed at elsewhere. Restaurant food is good, if a little pricey. Service is generally good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights in early January and there were upsides and downsides. First of all, the rooms had a lot of character, with high stone ceilings and traditional furnishings, and everything was perfectly clean. The food in the restaurant was also really good - we had lunch and dinner there as well as breakfast, which was a standard buffet. The staff were all very willing to help and when we told them our shower head was broken they sent someone to fix it straight away. The hotel is right across the street from the bus station, which could be handy but also a bit noisy, and there isn't much night life in the area in terms of places to get a drink or dinner, but that might not bother you. Although the hotel had a lot of character there were a couple of things that weren't ideal: sound travelled between rooms quite badly, the wi-fi didn't work in our room for 2 of our 3 days and the bathroom was absolutely tiny. It was a nice place overall but having now been to Jerusalem I might try somewhere else for the same price if I went again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Very close to the Old City. Located in the Arab section - I felt safe at all times but note that there is limited dining, night life and bars nearby.

Probably good value, don't know for sure since I have not been to other hotels in Jerusalem. Wifi was spotty in my room and the bed was not long enough for me and I'm only 6 ft 3. That said, room was large and clean and the attached restaurant was great although the noise carried into my room till about 11 pm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, it is a very nice and charming place run by a Palestinian family. You are coming as a stranger and leave as a friend. Don´t expect a poshy place with a minbar and pay-tv, but the room (really stylish and individual) has all amenities of the 21st century such like high speed internet and a tv with lots of channels to browse through.
Combined with the friendlyness of the staff (and they are really friendly, competent and extremely helpful) this is the ideal place to stay in Jerusalem. Of course it is not a cheap place (but accommodation in Jerusalem is expensive), but the value for money ratio is excellent.
I will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#12 of 94 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
St. George Hotel Jerusalem
#53 of 94 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#25 of 94 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Legacy Hotel
#49 of 94 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#30 of 94 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Hotel

Address: Nablus Road | East Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 94 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerusalem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel situated in an old Arab mansion located only a few meters from the Garden Tomb and The Damascus Gate and within a short walking distance to major historical and cultural sites.Originally built by a feudal lord in the heart of the ancient city of Jerusalem, the Jerusalem hotel has been carefully renovated.Accentuate its 19th century Arab character and refurbished with Arabesque furniture.This distinct architecture is evident in the arched windows.High ceilings, cool stone flagging and secluded vine garden.The thick stone walls, cut from unique creamy Jerusalem stone,Have been exposed and pointed with a traditional Arabic plaster.Rooms are timelessly decorated with antiques inspiring a Middle Eastern oriental milieu.Each of our 14 rooms is custom-furnished, air conditioned and provides a state of the art, fast internet connection, network facilities, wireless internet, two direct dial, separate phone lines, and a Yes cable receiver for guests comfort viewing.Once upon a time a gentle women and men but are start our speech and pleasantries reach, we must offer greetings!and peace!Shall we tell tales tonight .or sleep?we'll tell tales ...once upon a time the storytellers tells such quenching grapes fell upon a place, named KAN ZAMANwhere doors open wide where nerves do unwind where friends and dear ones and visitor who loved once from every neighborhood and home do stay...Enjoying the charms of nights, and joys of the day...The two eating places, the airy 'VINE' garden-patio restaurant and the authentic Diwan (indoor) offer a rich variety of Mediterranean dishes as a full meal or as a snack at reasonable prices. Live Arabic music is organized weekly. The Diwan is ideal for parties accommodating up to forty guests.Whatever the reason for you to visit Jerusalem, our hotel offers the relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jerusalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerusalem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.