We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a sightseeing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Riga
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a sightseeing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed there for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The hotel is on a pedestrianised street and so is pretty quiet at night.
It has nothing special - no particular view or health club etc - but only a 20 or 30 minute from the Old City, and for the price was absolutely great for s sight-seeing holiday.
There is free wifi which was part of the reason we booked it (and it worked well and was fast).
The breakfast was nothing special but we liked it.
We ate in the restaurant one night and it was excellent (and obviously popular with non-residents which was a good sign) and the staff were exceptional.
The reception staff were great and very helpful.
Some reviews said that the rooms were noisy from other quests, but we didn't notice anything - maybe we were just lucky!!
One tiny problem was that we discovered it was possible to open the door to our room without a key - we reported it and someone came up but didn't manage to fix it. However it was no big deal - there was a safe in the room, a video camera by the lift, and it is only a small hotel. Given that obviously cleaning staff can get in anyway, there was not really anything to worry about.
Overall we were really pleased with it and will definitely stay there again if we go back to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    125
    48
    14
    6
See reviews for
55
95
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

This hotel is in a great location, right near Ben Yehuda pedestrian mall, and about a 15 minute walk down Hillel Street to the Old City. The hotel has a very good breakfast included with the room, the berekas were great! It is also a short walk to Mahane Yehuda market. The room was a decent size and comfortable, even when we had a cot put in for our daughter. This is not a luxury hotel, but the location is so good that iot makes it a good value. Enjoy!

PS Celena's is a good restaurant on Shlomzion HaMalka, Foccacetta's is good , but very slow service. Also recommend Roza's restaurant in an alley off Ben Yehuda.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

This is apparently the smallest hotel in Jerusalem and you could scarcely find a better location - in a quiet, traffic free street just off Ben Yehuda...and there's a cafe on the corner with delicious coffee and the best chocolate cake ever.
The hotel is unremarkable apart from its location: no views, barely adequate breakfast and quite old-fashioned rooms. But the reception and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful (not often the case with Israeli hotels)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Great location on a short pedastrian street of King Georg and close to Ben Yehuda. A short (10-15 min) walk to the old city and in the other direction a short walk to Mahane Yehuda market. Good value for the money. Average - good breakfast buffet, clean rooms and plesant service when needed. Nothing fancy but a good base for some days of an active vaccation, mostly spent out of the hotel (I guess most people don't come to Jerusalem to spend the days in their hotel room). Sound from the corridor and other rooms at times a bit disturbing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Convenient location on a pedestrian block, a reasonable walk from the Old City. Room and breakfast were adequate. A fine choice as a base for a few days of sight seeing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

good clean and nice boutique hotel
The location is very near to the old city
near the great synagoge and ben yehuda
st. which is the best of all.
when i checked in the evening, i was surprised
with the clerkman at the desk,when he asked me
how was my trip,and invited me for a cup of coffe
and more than that , when i reached my room
he called me and asked if every thing is convenient
for me. The guy with the curely hair was always nice
to me and he did took care of me.
Not only that ,i saw him how he treat guests with his
knowledge, expiernce,pataince and generousity.
reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

We were fortunate to find a room at Montefiore Hotel for our visit to Jerusalem at the beginning of October 09. The hotel itself was very clean and the rooms were attractive and comfortable. It was our first visit to Jerusalem ever and the hotel was ideally situated as a central base from which to tour the city and further out. We had a wonderful time. We were very grateful to the staff who were very friendly, helpful and provided guidance for our trips around the city. It was a wonderful trip that we won't ever forget.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.