We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“few thoghts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
1 review
“few thoghts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

-small but comfortable room
-excellent breakfast (kosher kitchen) with lot of vegetables and salads (no meat)
- helpful, friendly staff
- the old city is in walking distance (20 minutes)
- small parking lot near the hotel (55NIS/day)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Public Relations Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It means a lot to us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast in particular.

Hopefully we will see you again soon,

Best regards,

Simon de Freitas
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    127
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
59
100
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Located on a lovely quiet street in the center of Jerusalem, I do not recommend staying here. The receptionists have the attitudes of disgruntled union workers, or keep you waiting 20 min while they are on a cigarette break. The rooms (we stayed in 2 and saw another 2) needed some serious cleaning. Even the suite (where we were upgraded to) smelled like cigarette smoke, and had used coffee cups left in the room. Just a few steps up the hill there are wonderful cafés, which was a godsend because the breakfast was inedible.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Mr.& Mrs. Novak,
Thank you for your review. Although we are always happy to hear our guests comments about their stay, and usually learn a lot of them ,I cannot say that this time is the same.
I have spoken with the receptionist who welcomed you and with the manager who you spoke with, You were given a regular room, as you ordered, and your complaint to the staff was that it looked "old". not dirty ( we suggested to send housekeeping to check, but you refused).
Well, the rooms and bathrooms at the Montefiore are not new. that is not a secret .
We take pride of the fact that they are clean, and a look at other reviews will prove it.
You also forgot to mention that we upgraded you to the only suite we have for free, and that we sent you fruits to the room, as a token of good will. Nevertheless,I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations, and would like to congratulate you on your wedding.
All the best,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great location on non trafficked street -- but quite a let-down... Internet barely worked for more than 2 minutes in the room. It kept logging out or quitting! The hotel was brimming with very noisy birthright tourists who stayed up slamming doors and yelling in the stairwells until the wee hours. On the bright side. The desk staff are very nice and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review.
The Internet and Wifi system in the hotel was recently replaced by a new one.
We have contacted the internet supplier to solve this issue and hopefully what you have experienced will not repeat in the future.
Thanks for your comment ,we appreciate that you took the time to let us know about it.
All the best
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Small & quite hotel, nice and big enogh equipped rooms, close to Ben-Yehuda "midrahov" [shops and cafes without cars]; also near to Jerusalem main sinegogue. Good service in dining room and an exellent shef.

Room Tip: don't take the rooms: 201 301 401 501 601 because the noise of the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Montefiore's location on a short pedestrian promenade and its relatively low cost are its strong points. Ben Yehuda is just five minutes away, and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Old City and the Mahane Yehuda street market. The Israel Museum and Knesset are about 30 minutes by foot.

The hotel itself is very basic. Our room next to the elevator was quite small, with minimal space between the bed and the corner of the desk, which made it difficult to get to the bathroom at night. The bed was comfortable, but smaller than the ones we're accustomed to. On the plus side, the room was very quiet and included a safe. The free Wi-Fi signal was usually adequate, although I occasionally was unable to connect to Web sites on the first attempt.

The Montefiore's amenities are minimal. There is a restaurant, but it never seemed to be open. The breakfast is adequate and is served in a well-maintained dining room near the lobby. The staff were polite, though most didn't go out of their way to greet us. We were also given conflicting information when we inquired about a larger room. One front desk attendant insisted that all the rooms are identical (apart from the suite), but another said that the rooms near the elevator are slightly smaller than the others. (The room layout diagram in our closet confirmed the latter.)

Breakfast was less sumptuous than the ones we've had in other israeli hotels, but was certainly adequate. The dining area off the lobby was small, but clean and well-maintained.

The Montefiore is a good choice if you're looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep while in Jerusalem, as long as you're expectations aren't too high.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Public Relations Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback, this means a lot to us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and mentioned the things that you believed were good.
The restaurant is unfortunately not open at the moment and was not open during your stay too. It will be under refurbishment very soon.

We hope to see you again and this time when doing the reservation you might want to precise that you do not want a room right next to the lift.

Thank you again,

Best regards,

Simon de Freitas
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here with a group of international visitors to Israel. The staff were helpful, friendly and kind to our group who were all in Jerusalem for the first time. The only negative was our meeting at breakfast with a Taglit group who we were told would be at breakfast early but came exactly when we did. We realized that the hotel couldn't control this but with the small size of the dining room, it was very unpleasant to be pushed and jostled by 40 young not-very-polite Americans. However, the staff in the dining room worked like crazy to keep things going, cleaning tables, keeping the food replenished and so on.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, CA
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is not a luxurious hotel. It is comfortable but bare bones. The beds are comfy, there is a desk and a chair in the room and the bathroom is fine. The breakfast is typical Israeli. It can hold you for most of the day. It is plentiful but not the best we have had. The hotel is in a great location. Jerusalem is a walking city and you can get anywhere from here. It is very central. That being said, if we wanted to spend our children's inheritance we would be at the King David or the Waldorf!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Public Relations Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location really attractive.
Hopefully we will see you again soon,

Best regards,

Simon de Freitas
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.