We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location, good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT location, good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here with a group of international visitors to Israel. The staff were helpful, friendly and kind to our group who were all in Jerusalem for the first time. The only negative was our meeting at breakfast with a Taglit group who we were told would be at breakfast early but came exactly when we did. We realized that the hotel couldn't control this but with the small size of the dining room, it was very unpleasant to be pushed and jostled by 40 young not-very-polite Americans. However, the staff in the dining room worked like crazy to keep things going, cleaning tables, keeping the food replenished and so on.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    124
    47
    14
    6
See reviews for
54
94
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placentia, CA
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is not a luxurious hotel. It is comfortable but bare bones. The beds are comfy, there is a desk and a chair in the room and the bathroom is fine. The breakfast is typical Israeli. It can hold you for most of the day. It is plentiful but not the best we have had. The hotel is in a great location. Jerusalem is a walking city and you can get anywhere from here. It is very central. That being said, if we wanted to spend our children's inheritance we would be at the King David or the Waldorf!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Public Relations Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location really attractive.
Hopefully we will see you again soon,

Best regards,

Simon de Freitas
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were very pleased with this hotel. If you are on a budget and want a place that is basic, clean and in a GREAT location, this is your hotel. The hotel room is not luxurious but does the job. We weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room anyway! The price was right and we loved the location. Maybe since we were there 6 nights, we were surprised one night with fruit, jam, and bottled water, and another night with a bottle of wine! The breakfast was typical Israeli style-very good and complete with Cappuccino machine! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Such a lovely hotel. I was leading a group and so didn't pay for the hotel but was pleasantly suprised with how nice it was.The shabbat dinner was amazing and I am still dreaming of the brisket! Breakfast was plentiful and yummy and the hotel is in a wonderful location close to Ben Yehuda Street for shopping and a quick walk to the Old City. The staff was lovely and accommodating as I was with a group of 40 young participants. It was so good I have booked a stay in June on a personal trip. Can't wait for that Brisket!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

For a hotel location close to everything in Jerusalem the Montfiore is ideal.
This hotel scored highly with me. The room was neat, tidy and comfortable. The restaurant served up an excellent breakfast catering for a wide range of start-the-day preferences. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and attentive. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Pretty good tourist hotel, everything worked well, maintenance level OK, good bed, OK bathroom, adequate room size, great wireless, even greater digital TV, quiet neighborhood 5 minutes walk from Jaffa street which offers everything you want in a city, lots of shopping, dining etc near the hotel. 15 minutes walk from the Old City. Breakfast very jewish/middle eastern, poor bread selection (maybe because of pass-over), average quality. Good coffee from fresh grinded beans. Would come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind words.They are greatly appreciated.
As for your remark about the bread seletion- yes, the selection of bread during passover is poor- there is no bread at all.all wheat products are banned due to religiouos rules..The bread you did see, is actually made of potato flower !...
All the best,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My friend and I booked the hotel, and when we went there, we called the front desk to find out where the parking was, but after trying about 15 times and no answer, I just left the car on the street and walked up there. The person at the desk was on her personal phone chatting with a friend. Asked her if the hotel had a parking, she sent me to a shady parking spot we had to park the car about 4 blocks away from the hotel. After parking we collected our luggage and went back to the hotel. Found out it was over booked so the attendant sent us walking with all our luggage to their newly build, which had construction still in progress, "Hotel Éyal". The room was too small and the shower flooded every time someone showered. The room was facing the steet with really loud music. You cannot go to sleep until 2:00 am. "I am really sorry" is all the manager said and knowing our car was parked nearer to other hotel didn't even offer us a cab ride, since it was their mistake. In any case we paid a lot of money for Montefiore and stayed in a very bad room, when asked if we could get the difference back, the manager said that the hotel we stayed at was more pricier and that we wouldn't get our money back. Instead he made us pay $30 more since there two people in the room. They are using their close to 5 star reviews to over book the montefiore and send people to Éyal, which has no reviews. Beware before making a reservation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmartHotelsIsrael, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations.
We are surprised to read some of your comments about the transfer to the Eyal hotel. Although the short distance between the two hotels, we always propose a free taxi ride to move between hotels, and according to the reception clerk, you refused it ,and said that you were going to walk it.On the end of your stay, you were offered help with the luggage by the reception manager, but you declined this as well.
As for the problems you encountered at the Eyal hotel, It is indeed a very new hotel, and it is possible that water draining in the bath was not fast enough.Following your review,a maintenance person was sent to check your room, and to solve the problem .
I'm sorry for your discomfort, If you could be in touch with us ,I'm sure that we could find a way to sort this out.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.