We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable if unspectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable if unspectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Not much to rave or rant on at this property. The location is great, equidistant from the Old City and the bus station which were my big destinations during my stay in Jerusalem. Walking distance to Jaffa Gate and not far from the tram line.

The staff were friendly on check in and they fielded my request of a room on the higher floors (I got a room on the top level). The view was from my room was expansive but didn't look at anything in particular.

The room itself had a dated feel, sort of like a dorm room. But it was comfortable and clean. No issues in the bathroom.

The one big point of difference at this property was the fully loaded breakfast in the morning. Quite a large selection and it would have been absolutely perfect if they only offered specialty coffees such as a latte (I abhor drip coffee).

The price point was excellent for the value and I would recommend this property for a cheap and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Request an upper level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.com

We are glad the you enjoyed our new breakfast, and I am delighted to inform you that as from yesterday, we have a new coffee machine, with freshly grounded coffee beans,where one can select the type of coffee he desires.
We hope to see you again among our guests on your next trip to Jerusalem

Best regards,

Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    125
    48
    14
    6
See reviews for
55
95
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Montefiore Hotel is a simple hotel-not fancy-but great price and great location. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is on a quiet pedestrian street with a couple of small cafe's nearby. It is a 10-15 minute walk to Old Jerusalem and just five minutes away from the pedestrian street of Ben Yehuda with lots of restaurants and shops. The staff are helpful. Only issue is unloading luggage from the street up the hill and parking is a five minute walk away (in a small lot where you do wonder if the car will be there when you return). Otherwise, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel is in great central location-short walk to Ben Yehuda Street (the main artery with shops, restaurants) and Jaffa Gate (into the old city). Located on a quiet street ensures a decent nights sleep. Clean and relatively room, with comfortable beds, tea/coffee making facilities, TV and daily maid service. Not a posh place by any means but very affordable and price includes a fairly good breakfast....cereals, breads, salads, eggs and cold coffee unfortunately. Friendly and helpful hotel reception staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days. The place was comfortable and in a great location. We could walk to the old city, museums, the local market, the light rail and plenty of shops and restaurants. Also, it is on a quiet street with a great cafe, market and deli across the way. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff was extremely helpful in helping us set up tours, and checking on bus schedules, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your kind words.
We are very exited about our new breakfast, and we are so glad that you liked it!
Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Jerusalem.

Best regards,

Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A good hotel for the price, wonderful location and nice rooms. We booked connecting rooms - they only have a few I think. Reception was always friendly, breakfast isn't a huge selection but then it's not a huge hotel and what there is was fresh and good. Cafes and very friendly little supermarket right outside the door, and a craft market outside on Friday morning.

Room Tip: The room next to the lift did have a bit of noise from the lift machinery but could only hear it whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is my third stay in five years at the Montefiore in which time it has had a refurbishment - glad to say that the rooms are more comfortable and clean although still spartan-bring all the toiletries you need as only a shower cap, 'vanity set (i.e. two bits of cotton wool and a small nail file) are provided along with wall-mounted liquid soap . The breakfast is unvarying and limited which gets boring if you are staying for week each time as I do - in the land of fruit and good coffee - you'll get fruit squash and a choice between instant or weak American style coffee which is not great.

But the hotel is quiet, the staff are helpful and opposite is a wonderful delicatessen with all kinds of goodies and a restaurant which sells great quiches and there's the Artists House restaurant which is expensive but worth the treat. The location is also very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
We are proud to tell you that just a few days ago we have terminated the contract with our food supplier, and we have started to serve an amazingly good breakfast in our new dinning room.
Items at breakfast change daily, and so far, we see our guests with very happy faces ..

pictures of our new breakfast will be uploaded to our website within a few days.

I am sure that on your next stay with us at the Montefiore, you will be even more content with the hotel.

Best regards and see you again soon,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice in the space of two weeks. The rooms were very comfortable, and the room on the top floor (701) had a fabulous bathroom and a roof deck. The location is perfect--in a quiet side street, within walking distance of many things, including the Old City and Ben Yehuda St. with all its restaurants and coffeeshops. For Jerusalem, the prices are reasonable. They will lend you a laptop and the wifi is free, but you have to use it in the lobby. Tea and coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.