We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Montefiore Hotel is a simple hotel-not fancy-but great price and great location. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is on a quiet pedestrian street with a couple of small cafe's nearby. It is a 10-15 minute walk to Old Jerusalem and just five minutes away from the pedestrian street of Ben Yehuda with lots of restaurants and shops. The staff are helpful. Only issue is unloading luggage from the street up the hill and parking is a five minute walk away (in a small lot where you do wonder if the car will be there when you return). Otherwise, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    112
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
47
77
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Hotel is in great central location-short walk to Ben Yehuda Street (the main artery with shops, restaurants) and Jaffa Gate (into the old city). Located on a quiet street ensures a decent nights sleep. Clean and relatively room, with comfortable beds, tea/coffee making facilities, TV and daily maid service. Not a posh place by any means but very affordable and price includes a fairly good breakfast....cereals, breads, salads, eggs and cold coffee unfortunately. Friendly and helpful hotel reception staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days. The place was comfortable and in a great location. We could walk to the old city, museums, the local market, the light rail and plenty of shops and restaurants. Also, it is on a quiet street with a great cafe, market and deli across the way. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff was extremely helpful in helping us set up tours, and checking on bus schedules, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your kind words.
We are very exited about our new breakfast, and we are so glad that you liked it!
Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Jerusalem.

Best regards,

Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A good hotel for the price, wonderful location and nice rooms. We booked connecting rooms - they only have a few I think. Reception was always friendly, breakfast isn't a huge selection but then it's not a huge hotel and what there is was fresh and good. Cafes and very friendly little supermarket right outside the door, and a craft market outside on Friday morning.

Room Tip: The room next to the lift did have a bit of noise from the lift machinery but could only hear it whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is my third stay in five years at the Montefiore in which time it has had a refurbishment - glad to say that the rooms are more comfortable and clean although still spartan-bring all the toiletries you need as only a shower cap, 'vanity set (i.e. two bits of cotton wool and a small nail file) are provided along with wall-mounted liquid soap . The breakfast is unvarying and limited which gets boring if you are staying for week each time as I do - in the land of fruit and good coffee - you'll get fruit squash and a choice between instant or weak American style coffee which is not great.

But the hotel is quiet, the staff are helpful and opposite is a wonderful delicatessen with all kinds of goodies and a restaurant which sells great quiches and there's the Artists House restaurant which is expensive but worth the treat. The location is also very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
We are proud to tell you that just a few days ago we have terminated the contract with our food supplier, and we have started to serve an amazingly good breakfast in our new dinning room.
Items at breakfast change daily, and so far, we see our guests with very happy faces ..

pictures of our new breakfast will be uploaded to our website within a few days.

I am sure that on your next stay with us at the Montefiore, you will be even more content with the hotel.

Best regards and see you again soon,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice in the space of two weeks. The rooms were very comfortable, and the room on the top floor (701) had a fabulous bathroom and a roof deck. The location is perfect--in a quiet side street, within walking distance of many things, including the Old City and Ben Yehuda St. with all its restaurants and coffeeshops. For Jerusalem, the prices are reasonable. They will lend you a laptop and the wifi is free, but you have to use it in the lobby. Tea and coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoutenburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is simple, but effective, close to the Ben Yehuda st. in a quiet sideroad.
Staff is not customer friendly if you don' t speak hebrew or arab, completely ignoring guests going in or out.
Parking is a problem in the area. The hotel has no parking available. They have a 55 shekels per night arrangement with a local parking lot. So if you just need a car to get at the hotel and plan to return your rental car the same day, you better drop off your luggage and first return the car, or find a parking place for a few hours.
Wifi in the rooms is a great add of this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Otel and Venere so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.