We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Jerusalem
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A good hotel for the price, wonderful location and nice rooms. We booked connecting rooms - they only have a few I think. Reception was always friendly, breakfast isn't a huge selection but then it's not a huge hotel and what there is was fresh and good. Cafes and very friendly little supermarket right outside the door, and a craft market outside on Friday morning.

Room Tip: The room next to the lift did have a bit of noise from the lift machinery but could only hear it whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    121
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
53
90
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is my third stay in five years at the Montefiore in which time it has had a refurbishment - glad to say that the rooms are more comfortable and clean although still spartan-bring all the toiletries you need as only a shower cap, 'vanity set (i.e. two bits of cotton wool and a small nail file) are provided along with wall-mounted liquid soap . The breakfast is unvarying and limited which gets boring if you are staying for week each time as I do - in the land of fruit and good coffee - you'll get fruit squash and a choice between instant or weak American style coffee which is not great.

But the hotel is quiet, the staff are helpful and opposite is a wonderful delicatessen with all kinds of goodies and a restaurant which sells great quiches and there's the Artists House restaurant which is expensive but worth the treat. The location is also very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
We are proud to tell you that just a few days ago we have terminated the contract with our food supplier, and we have started to serve an amazingly good breakfast in our new dinning room.
Items at breakfast change daily, and so far, we see our guests with very happy faces ..

pictures of our new breakfast will be uploaded to our website within a few days.

I am sure that on your next stay with us at the Montefiore, you will be even more content with the hotel.

Best regards and see you again soon,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice in the space of two weeks. The rooms were very comfortable, and the room on the top floor (701) had a fabulous bathroom and a roof deck. The location is perfect--in a quiet side street, within walking distance of many things, including the Old City and Ben Yehuda St. with all its restaurants and coffeeshops. For Jerusalem, the prices are reasonable. They will lend you a laptop and the wifi is free, but you have to use it in the lobby. Tea and coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoutenburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is simple, but effective, close to the Ben Yehuda st. in a quiet sideroad.
Staff is not customer friendly if you don' t speak hebrew or arab, completely ignoring guests going in or out.
Parking is a problem in the area. The hotel has no parking available. They have a 55 shekels per night arrangement with a local parking lot. So if you just need a car to get at the hotel and plan to return your rental car the same day, you better drop off your luggage and first return the car, or find a parking place for a few hours.
Wifi in the rooms is a great add of this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

15 min. walking distance to the Jaffa Gate. The hotel offers a great location to visit the old city and is located in a very nice area of the city with many shops , restaurants and cafes
The rooms are fine, the bathrooms are a little old fashioned.
The breakfast is kosher, is more or less ok.
The restaurant serves excellent quality food, is expensive, but the people who work there are not friendly which is a real pity.
Anyway we would return to it, mostly because if the location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is one of Jerusalem's best kept secrets...shhhh, don't tell too many people.
My sister initially stayed here on the advice of her travel agent. Once I saw where she was staying and compared it to the large hotel where I was booked, I cancelled my hotel reservations and immediately booked at the Montefiore Hotel.

How do I love this hotel? Let me count the ways:
1) The price is right!
2) It's clean
3) The gentleman originally from Russia is by far the nicest employee in the hotel (the women are fairly cold and unpleasant) and he made me feel welcomed. He's pictured on their website; he's a wonderful first impression employee.
4) The cleaning crew is friendly and helpful
5) You can walk to most places; super convenient
6) The rooms are comfortable and cozy
7) Breakfast is respectable
8) The neighborhood is charming and safe
9) There are quaint restaurants and corner stores right there
10) You're in the heart of Jerusalem in a fine hotel in the middle of the city! Sweet life.
11) Locals stay there, lots of Israelis use this hotel, which is nice if you want to avoid the throngs of tour groups

After having stayed at this hotel on a prolonged vacation in Israel, I booked again, returned to Jerusalem, just so I could enjoy this prime location and property one more time.

In summary, avoid the huge chains and stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that face the apartment complexes in the back; ask for a room facing the pedestrian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windber, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just back from spending ten days in this hotel. The hotel has an excellent location: close to Ben Yehuda Street, in walking distance to Mamilla Mall, Mahane Yehuda Market and the new light rail system.
The hotel is on a pedestrian mall and is quiet for a good night's sleep.
Our room was a good size , clean, bright and cheerful. There was a lovely flower box outside our window. We had a view overlooking Shatz Street.
A coffee shop, quaint book store and two markets are right across the street. Getting a taxi is very easy in this area.
The breakfast was very good; consisting of salads, rolls, yogurts, cheeses, eggs and fruit.
Staff was very helpful in answering our questions and responding to any needs.
Bed was very comfortable. Air quality was good.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Shatz Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.