We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montefiore Hotel

Save Saved
You added Montefiore Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montefiore Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel (Nachla'ot)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Windber, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just back from spending ten days in this hotel. The hotel has an excellent location: close to Ben Yehuda Street, in walking distance to Mamilla Mall, Mahane Yehuda Market and the new light rail system.
The hotel is on a pedestrian mall and is quiet for a good night's sleep.
Our room was a good size , clean, bright and cheerful. There was a lovely flower box outside our window. We had a view overlooking Shatz Street.
A coffee shop, quaint book store and two markets are right across the street. Getting a taxi is very easy in this area.
The breakfast was very good; consisting of salads, rolls, yogurts, cheeses, eggs and fruit.
Staff was very helpful in answering our questions and responding to any needs.
Bed was very comfortable. Air quality was good.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Shatz Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    123
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
51
86
43
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thsi hotel is only about location. There is no service at all the cleaning is beyond desirable, the breakfast is really really poor, the waiters at breakfast are always in a bad mood, reception is really nice. Wi-fi hardly works. But location is great. I thought it was very expensive for what it offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Montefiore the hote ls pleasant ,clean and got excellent location. the
breakfast was very simple. On Fridays there is a fair in front, also a lovely coffee shop across the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were in Jerusalem last month to celebrate our son as he graduated from IDF Paratrooper basic training. We phoned the Montefiore direct a few months early and booked a couple of rooms a reasonable rate (for Jerusalem). Little did we know that at the last minute our Chayal son invited another lone soldier to spend the night with us. Even though the hotel was quite full and that it was late at night, the friendly night manager arranged to have someone find a cot and to bring it into the room with extra towels. We always have found the staff friendly and helpful and this stay was no exception.

We love this hotel. The decor is pleasant, the rooms are -- shall we say 'cozy'. But it's really quite comfortable. What we want when we travel is a clean, safe, reasonably priced place in a fantastic location -- on all these counts the Montefiore fits the bill. The no-traffic pedestrian street they are located on offers a quiet night's sleep. Their breakfast is not opulent but the food is fresh, hardy and plentiful.

A small annoyance (and this is really quite small) this stay was the fact that the WiFi never worked in our room (despite calling several times and the desk clerk saying that they would look into it). We had internet through our cell phones and WiFi the hotel lobby, so it was not that big a deal.

In all, it was a great stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms face either a back alley (not much to look at) or they face Shatz Street, which is a no-traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for your kind words.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Montefiore Hotel.
As for the WIFI, there is indeed an ongoing problem with the WIFI in the rooms, hopefully it will be resolved by the end of this week.
We will be delighted to host you again on your next visit to Jerusalem.

Best Regards,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Montefiore during the Jerusalem marathon. Room was clean and comfortable. Had flat screen tv & floor safe. Refrigerator and supplies for coffee/tea were a great plus. Best of all was the location. We were able to walk everywhere. Hotel had arrangement with nearby parking lot to leave our car for 55NIS per day. Breakfast included was very good.
I suggest asking for a room facing Schatz Street when making reservations. Online reservation offers a discount.
Wifi was free and very appreciated to stay in touch with family in the US.

Room Tip: request room facing the pedestrian street (Schatz)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The front desk was very accommodating . They gave us a brand new refurbished room on the 7 floor . Breakfast needs work. The hotel is centrally located. The free wifi only worked in the lobby . On Fridays there is a nice craft fair in front. A cab to Kotel is 35 sheks or a 30 minute walk.

Room Tip: 7 floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights.

Firstly - the positive: The location of this hotel is great - close to the main shopping areas of Jerusalem and close enough for a walk to the old city (maybe 20 minutes).

The rooms are well maintained, and the TV is good.

Secondly: Unfortunately, the staff at the hotel are neither enthusiastic or helpful, and tough to get a smile out of them. I wouldn't want to rely on them for some good tourist advice.

The Internet Wi-Fi didn't work for the entire duration of my stay, which was really annoying - especially as this was a reason I selected the hotel - as it had Wi-Fi. I asked the staff on four separate occasions to address this issue and nobody every got back to me an it was not resolved. ( I am writing this from a restaurant)

The breakfast, by any standards was terrible. I stayed ad the similarly priced YMCA Hotel previously which had a magnificent breakfast. This hotel supposed to have a breakfast representing an 'Israeli Breakfast' and it was a scarce smattering of limp looking salads and one egg variation (scrambled). I'd recommend trying the breakfast across the road on the corner which was excellent.

Not a major concern - but the only soap in the bathroom was from a dispenser and they said the dispenser was soap, shampoo and conditioner all at once. I have never heard of such a thing.

I would recommend this hotel only if it was convenient, the price was ok and you didn't really have any expectations of service or a decent breakfast.

Guys - you have to fix this internet issue - I read a similar complaint previously.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyalaHotels, Manager at Montefiore Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that you feel you did not get the level of customer service that you expected.
We try hard to give to give the best service we can, and as can be seen from previous reviews, we get plenty of compliments about our staff, but the Israeli style it is not always what people expect..
As for the WIFI in the rooms, there is an ongoing problem that is making us change the entire system in the Hotel; hopefully we will have free WIFI in the rooms by the end of this week.
Thankfully, the WIFI in the lobby is working just fine, and one can get a free laptop at the reception if needed.
Regards,
Naama Yemini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montefiore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montefiore Hotel

Address: 7 Shatz Street, Jerusalem 94267, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Nachla'ot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montefiore Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Jerusalem, The Montefiore Hotel is within walking distance of the Old City and many attractions, such as The Western Wall, The Church of the Holy Sepulcher, and the Ben Yehuda Promenade.Many of the city’s best restaurants and exclusive shops are nearby.The hotel has excellent public transport links which take you all over the city, a station of the new light rail service nearby.The hotel has 47 comfortable rooms and one suite. The Montefiore Hotel provides a full Israeli breakfast and free wireless WIFI connection. A free laptop, available upon request, will help you stay in touch with home.At the Hotel: the Angelica Restaurant, a unique kosher chef’s restaurant, offers fine grill and special dishes.The best location in town – guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Montefiore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montefiore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.